Storage recommendation for large site (32 cameras)

jfmd

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all!

My company has recently undergone a very large renovation and has made the decision to install IP cameras around the whole site.
Fortunately this was decided just before construction work began so we were able to run CAT5e cables to 32 camera locations. All the cables then run back to a server room.
The maximum distance a camera will be from the server room will be approximately 70 metres so they all can be powered by PoE.

Does anyone have any experience with managing storage of this many cameras and if so what solution did you use?
I am currently leaning towards getting 2no. 16 channel NVRs with 16 POE ports each but I am still new to IP cameras so would love some advice.

Camera wise the plan is to use Hikvision brand cameras as we are most familiar with them.

Mike

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
if your going to use multiple NVR's then use an external PoE switch, this way any super-critical cameras can be added to both NVR's for redundancy.. if you dont have super long retention rates the 2 disk NVR's should be plenty for 16ch w/a couple very large (6TB+) disks in it.. if you have compliance or something then you might want to buy 4 disk NVR's or larger depending on retention rates.

Consider Dahua instead of Hikvision, just as reliable but performance is much better and they dont play games with firmware (cant downgrade, cant upgrade, cant get variants working together, etc)

whoslooking

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Although I wound normally agree with @nayr if your going big 32+ cameras, Hikvision is your better option, but not with Chinese imports!
Agreed that I would go for a non POE NVR and use a quality POE switch with 4+ 4tb WD Purple drives with RAID setup.

If you want Local viewing at another location, that's on your local network I would suggest using another NVR (cheaper one) as it give far better control for spot monitoring.

nayr

IPCT Contributor