Strange BI5 console behavior - freezing/missing portions of screen?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by erkme73, Jun 1, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. erkme73

    erkme73 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    399
    This is how it looks when I first open the console:

    upload_2019-6-1_21-43-54.png

    After going full screen and back to the group view, it looks like this:

    upload_2019-6-1_21-42-0.png

    My console keeps freezing up. BI5 is running fine, but it seems the screens stops updating, or won't refresh. Works good until I click around on cameras or go full screen then back to group view. Very odd behavior I haven't seen before.

    Closing and reopening the console restores the view.
     
  2. richl

    richl n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
  3. erkme73

    erkme73 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    399
    So glad to see I'm not the only one. My PC is an Acer i7-4790 that has an integrated Intel 4600 display driver. I tried updating the driver to the latest, but since it's part of the Acer system, it won't install and I'm forced to stick with the Acer-provided driver - which is more than 3 years old. I was beginning to think this is my problem. Just knowing that someone else has seen this (and in my case BI4 runs perfectly) makes me think that's not part of the problem.
     
  4. richl

    richl n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm sure we're not the only ones erkme73. If anyone else is reading this and seeing the same problem please chime in to add some weight to the issue.
    BI4 has been and is wonderful. Incredible. I've used it for a couple of years and LOVE IT. I run two copies at different sites. Unfortunately BI5 isn't quite ready for prime time. Aside from this display problem I've encountered several other v5 bugs including multiple crashes and lock-ups. After two days of trying to get it to run smoothly I've given up and am reinstalling BI4. I still want BI5 but will wait a few weeks (at least) before trying again. I know Ken is working hard to fix everything, he's the reason BI is great to begin with. v5 just wasn't tested broadly enough before rollout and that happens to ALL software companies at one or more points in time. ;)
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,024
    Likes Received:
    9,971
    The same thing occurred when BI4 was released and with some BI4 updates. Common sense tells you to wait a few weeks. Some folks suffer from OCD that does not allow this.