Switches for Dahua NVR

RDB85

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I’m after some advice. What’s the best way to add an Dahua 8 way switch to an NVR so that if I have say two switches to one NVR? Is that possible as I’ve never done it before.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I’m after some advice. What’s the best way to add an Dahua 8 way switch to an NVR so that if I have say two switches to one NVR? Is that possible as I’ve never done it before.
note :
Additional switches to NVRs typically are on the WLAN side not PoE ports ..

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You would need to attach the switch to the WAN/LAN port of the NVR, not a POE port.

Further, you cannot add more cameras than the capacity of the NVR.

RDB85

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Right okay. How would I add two switches to the NVR. As it’s at two ends of the building with the NVR in the middle? Also how would you do it in the gui of the nvr. So from complete scratch of adding the NVR and cameras onto the switch?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You would have to connect wire from one switch (or other peripherals it goes thru) to the other switch and then from that switch to the NVR.

You will have to manually add the cameras to the NVR.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Right okay. How would I add two switches to the NVR. As it’s at two ends of the building with the NVR in the middle? Also how would you do it in the gui of the nvr. So from complete scratch of adding the NVR and cameras onto the switch?
NVR WLAN <-> switch <-> (1) and (2) PoE switches ..

RDB85

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
You would have to connect wire from one switch (or other peripherals it goes thru) to the other switch and then from that switch to the NVR.

You will have to manually add the cameras to the NVR.