The Perfect Camera - Does it exist

Cajun Bob

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey Guys, Newbie Bob here...

While I'm new to this industry, I've been in motion picture production for over 40 years and know a little about camera and lens technology. Plus, in working with video forensics, I often see the problems with many cameras, formats, storage, and misleading specs. So, for my personal projects, I'm hoping y'all can point me to the best possible camera(s) for the job.

I need to know if there are any cameras out there that fit my wishlist below.

4k (or 8K depending on value)
H265 native recording
SD card onboard
60 - 120 fps capture
Always recording
Camera Zoning -
Smart Compatibility? (not sure what this is)
Night vision – Preferably Color
Microphone built-in
POE
Progressive Scan capture
Smart Motion Detection
NVR – What format does it record? H.265?
NVR – Should it be oversized to allow for additional cameras if needed.
Remote viewing
Storage expandability

Also, what is the best Overall size lens?

What is the best camera for capturing license plates?

Any other recommendations would be welcomed.

Thanks
Bob

Teken

Known around here
Reaction score

While I'm new to this industry, I've been in motion picture production for over 40 years and know a little about camera and lens technology. Plus, in working with video forensics, I often see the problems with many cameras, formats, storage, and misleading specs. So, for my personal projects, I'm hoping y'all can point me to the best possible camera(s) for the job.

4k (or 8K depending on value) - No such thing as a 8K camera in the consumer field that isn't a specialty camera. You couldn't afford that camera anyways. If you intend to purchase a 4K camera insure it uses no less than a 1 / 1.2" lens.

H265 native recording - Almost every enterprise class camera offers H.264 / H.265 whether they support H.264+ / H.265+ is a mixed bag and called something different from various companies.