Toggle Day/Night profiles on Dahua/Amcrest cams from BI

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by pov2, Jun 26, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. pov2

    pov2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    I remember reading either on this forum or on Dahua forum that someone mentioned it was possible to toggle Day/Night profiles on cams from Blue Iris. Can anyone briefly describe how to do it (if possible at all) or point me to where I can read about it. I can't seems to find it. Thanks.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,849
    Likes Received:
    9,822
    its would be in events in the cameras schedule. You can also use the dahua sunrise sunset tool by bp2008.
     
    SouthernYankee and pov2 like this.
  3. pov2

    pov2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks, fenderman!

    I couldn't find the proper commands in the events in schedules. There are many commands there but none seemed to be relevant. Do you have more details on which commands can be used for that?

    While I'd prefer to control this from BI, bp2008's tool works perfectly. Hail to @bp2008 ! As note to those interested this utility also works for Amcrest cams. Another confirmation they are Dahua clones.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  4. haag

    haag n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    If @bp2008's tool is working for you.. I'd suggest to just keep using it & avoid further aggravation's.

    I have found that on a lot of Dahua camera's, while Blue Iris seems to do "something?" when you toggle the day/night profile, it DOES NOT change what you'd expect. Where @bp2008's tool...all of them actually...always work as expected...Thank You

    Blue Iris does properly handle the day/night profile control on all the Hikvision cameras that I've tried.
     
    pov2 likes this.
  5. pov2

    pov2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks. But how does one do it in Blue Iris. I don't see a single command with words "day" or "night" in the menu that @fenderman pointed me to. And that place seems appropriate for such commands. I am missing something.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,849
    Likes Received:
    9,822
    Blue iris ir on/off actually toggles day/night not ir.
     
    pov2 likes this.
  7. pov2

    pov2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Sounds like the best kept secret but it didn't work for me unfortunately. Those commands didn't do anything. I found out that the reboot command sent to the camera through the PTZ/Control menu (right-click on the camera) doesn't reboot the camera either. I tried all profiles with Dahua or Amcrest in the name in the PTZ/Control tab in the camera properties. I need to find out why the commands don't do anything.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,849
    Likes Received:
    9,822
    You need to change the profile in the video configuration tab
     
  9. pov2

    pov2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    I changed the profile in the video tab to Dahua, Main Stream RTSP. PTZ/Control profile automatically changed to Dahua New V5. The commands still don't do anything. Otherwise, nothing seems to have changed. I think what haag posted above is true.
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,849
    Likes Received:
    9,822
    It does in fact work. Otherwise I have a magical phone because I could toggle it with the light bulb button. You have something set incorrectly, possibly the http port which generally is not needed by BI.