Total newb, about to purchase first ipcam.... (but some input sought first!)

kaczor47

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, great community here - I am glad I found it. I have been lurking for some time before creating an account.

I am about to purchase my first camera (after finally successfully obtaining permission from the real boss of the house!). Looking for
  • outdoor unit, relatively small and inconspicuous (hence a dome)
  • PTZ with IR. The area being monitored is not large, so IR range of ~15m is sufficient.

Currently I am considering either:

So both 4MP, 4x zoom, PTZ IR (the main difference I see on the spec sheet is the IR range (15m Dahua vs 20m Hikvision)). I was hoping to get some thoughts on the relative merits of the above two:
  • what about the reliability of the two brands?
  • is the software and intelligence that comes with them comparable?
  • is there an 6MP or 8MP upgrade available? without going to a Pro series of either Dahua or HikVision (don't want to mainly due to size).

Thanks in advance for any advice. I much appreciate it.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

If you have not yet read the Cliff Notes, then please do that. Also check out the WIKI.

Dome cams are really not a good idea for outdoors. The domes get dirty very fast, the plastic dome gets foggy from the UV light, and have trouble with IR reflections on the dome. Turrets or bullets are your friends for outdoors.

Do not chase MP. Look for larger sensor sizes.

A PTZ cam is not the best idea for your first cam. Unless you expect to be at the controls, you will generally miss the action. While I do have a few PTZ cams, they are for overview duty and are not expected to supply enough detail for face identification. I do not use the IR as they are looking through windows.

I actually have two of the 2MP versions of this cam, but are used indoors. They are good cams.

A review of the Dahua cam you linked to is here: