Trying to optimize, stop drops and make stuff accessible to me remotely

moparcruiser

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi all

I am a newbie at all this and am rapidly getting more and more confused on the RIGHT way to do this stuff.

Hoping y'all can help lead me the right direction.

I have laid out below my quest so far over the last two months or so....its a LOOOONG read so I know some will scroll right past,...but I know that info is important when trying to troubleshoot etc and so I have laid out all of it to that end....

Right now here is what I have going:

DLINK DCS5222L -- OLD wifi PTZ camera, indoors. Actually bought this years ago and at the time it didnt work at all as far as staying connected. Tried changing WIFI channels in the 2.4 GHZ realm but that didnt help much. Ended up shelving the camera til recently. Had workers at my house at one point over the summer and I needed a way to keep an eye on the activity so I dragged it out and tried it....it worked immediately and since then I have kept it up, shooting thru a front window (which I learned kills the use of night vision due to the refection of the IR). But as far as staying up, it has been really solid.

After this initial "success", I bought a DLINK DCS-8630LH-US wifi camera recently to try and get some coverage from my outbuilding (about 30 feet or so away from my house) of my back yard. Worked OK for a week or two...and the wide angle lens was AWESOME....great image when it worked..... but then started dropping like crazy for no apparent reason. The main gateway showed it still connected but no video stream....requiring a power cycle of it.....I had set it up per the instructions. Had nothing but trouble after that first week and got frustrated....