Unresponsive Hikvision DS-7732NI-I4/16P, I could really use some guidance, thanks

k1lbg

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, newbie here. Great computer skills, but not so much on Hikvision NVRs. (I own one for my house as well) Anyway, our security company came in to the business to do an update to get Hik-connect(?) running, and now the system does not take any inputs. They said it is bricked and cannot be recovered. The local screen shows the cameras live. Cannot connect via ethernet. The buttons on the front do nothing but beep once every time they are pressed. All the buttons are lit. If I press the right mouse button twice, the screen blinks and returns to live view. Clicking once does nothing apparently. Would really love to retain whatever is recorded, but I would really like to get this working again. Read some posts on password resets, etc. and the closest I see is to use ftp or tftp to download firmware via serial port. Symptoms were different than what I have, so not sure just which way to go. Any advice is appreciated before I stumble around trying solutions that can make matters worse.

Reaction score
Sounds like a loose cable somewhere inside the NVR, to be honest. Remove the cover, take a pic, post it here with the Hikvision model number.

k1lbg

n3wb
Reaction score
Update, when I moved the unit to the workbench, I used the HDMI port for the display. If I use the VGA port, I can get the login screen, (Welcome, then the Username and password fields, a place to click Forgot Password, and finally the login button. However, the username list has about 20 usernames (if you can call them that) but they are garbage. As best as I can replicate one here, it is: wn^n^^nv^C^nv^C....1235789, and the n and c are more like a stool and a backward c. So, I guess if I can reset usernames and passwords I'll be better off. Model number on box is