Using IVS rules in BI for PTZ Camera

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
338
Reaction score
537
Location
Australia
Hey Guys
Looking for advice to see if this is the best approach for my situation.

I have a Dahua PTZ that I use to patrol several areas that have little to no coverage.
The distances the presets cover are varied from ~5m to around 200m.

I'm using Blue Iris for everything, Its quite simply amazing.

The only limitation I have using Blue Iris in this instance (using the PTZ) is that in each preset:
  • I cannot specify the target size on each preset position.
  • Or specify the target size for each zone within a given preset.
Theres quite a difference in size of a target @ ~200m vs 5m when I have to use the same size target for detection. I have not worked out a way to address the issue using BI, so I tend to get a lot of false positives.

In an effort to fine tune BI, I use the Dahua IVS rules for each PTZ preset to trigger Blue Iris.
It seems to work,so far, does anyone else employ a similar method? Or am I doing this all wrong!


@Dasstrum I think I found you next BI tutorial video. :)
 

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
338
Reaction score
537
Location
Australia
Thought I'd throw together a quick guide on how to get IVS working with BI. I might have missed some configs or steps, but it should be enough to get anyone started.
The weapon of choice is a Dahua SD6AE240v-HNI. I'm not sure if it will work with all Dahua camera's, thats for you to work out, I guess.

I am assuming you have you IVS rules configured camera side, the rest should be set up set up as follows.

In Blue Iris open your Camera Properties > select Video (tab) > press Configure (button)> check Get events with PullpointSubscription (checkbox) press ok to continue.

Step1.png

Now Select Trigger (tab)> uncheck Motion Sensor > check Camera's digital input or motion (checkbox ) press ok to continue.

2.png

Save your new settings in Blue Iris, then login to your camera's Web UI.

In the Dahua Web UI Navigate to camera Settings tab, open Event> Video Detection> Select Motion Detection. Uncheck Enable (checkbox) and save.

3.png

Now your IVS rules should work in BI.
 

nbstl68

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
1,221
Reaction score
221
So you can use IVS to trigger BI recording? Any IVS setting?
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,734
Reaction score
2,677
Save your new settings in Blue Iris, then login to your camera's Web UI.

In the Dahua Web UI Navigate to camera Settings tab, open Event> Video Detection> Select Motion Detection. Uncheck Enable (checkbox) and save.
BI seems to be undoing the above whenever I restart BI (like after a BI upgrade, or after rebooting the PC), or after I save a camera change (and BI shows the test pattern and then reconnects to the camera). Right after any of those, my camera goes from having Motion Detection disabled to enabled.

I can connect to the camera and disable Motion Detection again, and everything works great until one of the events above happens again, ... then all of a sudden Motion Detection (on the camera) is magically re-enabled.

Anyone else run into this?

I should add that I'm using this on the IPC-HFW1831C-PIR camera, and looking to have BI only trigger a recording when the camera's PIR Alarm goes off. Everything works great until the camera's Motion Detection feature gets re-enabled, which is always right after one of the events above.
 

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
338
Reaction score
537
Location
Australia
Anyone else run into this?
I've been disabling manually, camera side. Your right motion detection seems to get enabled every few days after it's disabled. I assumed it was cameras firmware enabling motion detection.
I've been planning to automate the process it by creating a macro using a visual macro recorder like sikulix to login and check if its enabled to keep it disabled.
motion detction.png
 
Last edited:

bradner

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
76
Location
WA state
I've been disabling manually, camera side. Your right motion detection seems to get enabled every few days after it's disabled. I assumed it was cameras firmware enabling motion detection.
I've been planning to automate the process it by creating a macro using a visual macro recorder like sikulix to login and check if its enabled to keep it disabled.
View attachment 38322
I know this is an old thread but I was setting my Dahua IPC-HFW4431R-Z to trigger by IVS rather than BI and my camera's Motion Detection re-enables itself too. I don't know what's triggering it to re-enable yet though - maybe it's a BI restart as you mention. I have to do some tests to see.
 

th182

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
292
Reaction score
248
Location
Minnesota
I know this is an old thread but I was setting my Dahua IPC-HFW4431R-Z to trigger by IVS rather than BI and my camera's Motion Detection re-enables itself too. I don't know what's triggering it to re-enable yet though - maybe it's a BI restart as you mention. I have to do some tests to see.
I just came upon this thread while trying to setup my BI to respond to my PTZ IVS triggers. I too am getting the motion detection re-enabling, although it doesn't appear to be related to the BI restarts.
 

bradner

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
76
Location
WA state
I just came upon this thread while trying to setup my BI to respond to my PTZ IVS triggers. I too am getting the motion detection re-enabling, although it doesn't appear to be related to the BI restarts.
To be honest, I'm not sure what the in-cam motion detection does if I don't have an SD card in the camera.
 

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
1,135
Reaction score
666
On the motion detect being enabled, it looks like BI does this in error. If you totally clear the detection area in the camera, that should nullify the motion detect being enabled. If you leave it at the default full frame coverage, you'll get a lot of motion detect messages sent to BI and might mistake them for IVS triggers.

 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,560
Reaction score
6,983
Location
USA
You guys should tell Blue Iris support about the camera's motion detection getting re-enabled when BI restarts its camera instance. If it is something BI is doing intentionally, Ken might be willing to reconsider it.
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,734
Reaction score
2,677
If it is something BI is doing intentionally, Ken might be willing to reconsider it.
I think it's a Dahua bug/feature. If I use the "ONVIF Device Manager" program to connect to my Dahua cameras, motion detection also gets re-enabled. My Hik cameras don't have this problem with either BI or ONVIF Device Manager.
 

Sybertiger

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
681
Reaction score
631
Location
Orlando
You guys should tell Blue Iris support about the camera's motion detection getting re-enabled when BI restarts its camera instance. If it is something BI is doing intentionally, Ken might be willing to reconsider it.
I tried to make a post about this issue yesterday on the VERY crappy "official" php BB Blue Iris forum and received a popup that says it will not be posted until the moderator reviews my post. I did a post on something else a couple of weeks ago on that forum and it never was posted. Sux! Guess I should have emailed Ken directly.
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,734
Reaction score
2,677
Sux! Guess I should have emailed Ken directly.
FWIW, this was his reply when I emailed on the subject a little over a year ago.

Ultimately the solution to this will have to be the ability to select which events constitute a trigger. I will have to circle back to this once I have completed some other major feature projects under development.

I don't know why the MD in the camera is re-enabled ... this is not done purposely.
It does look like Blue Iris now differentiates between between EXTERNAL and ONVIF on the "Alerts" tab now, so maybe he's still working towards that.
 

dohat leku

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
87
Reaction score
11
Location
usa
Do I need an SD card in the camera to pull IVS alerts in blue Iris

Also has anybody been able to get blue iris inbuilt motion detection capabilities to work almost as good as IVS

thx
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,754
Reaction score
7,485
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Do I need an SD card in the camera to pull IVS alerts in blue Iris

Also has anybody been able to get blue iris inbuilt motion detection capabilities to work almost as good as IVS

thx
1-nope
2-Depends on what camera you are using. If it's a cam without AI, then yes, most definitely you can tune BI to do a much better job. With the caveat that this can be very situational dependent. IE: Your cameras specific surroundings it's viewing. If the cam has AI, then again considering the surrounds, the IVS rule "might" work better.
 

dohat leku

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
87
Reaction score
11
Location
usa
1) Looney appreciate the response - I have the HDW5231R-ZE which I presume is an older non-AI camera. Right?
2) with BI, would I get the best results to detect people coming in/out by using Zones? To be doubly clear, I'm not going the route described on this thread correct?

Thx
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,754
Reaction score
7,485
Location
Evansville, In. USA
1) Looney appreciate the response - I have the HDW5231R-ZE which I presume is an older non-AI camera. Right?
2) with BI, would I get the best results to detect people coming in/out by using Zones? To be doubly clear, I'm not going the route described on this thread correct?

Thx
1-Yes, not an AI cam.
2-See if this helps you: Blue Iris Video Tutorials | IP Cam Talk
 

dohat leku

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
87
Reaction score
11
Location
usa
Giving IVS a further try here since I already configured all rules on the camera a week ago. Now I followed instructions above to the Tee and no alerts are showing up on my BI. Any way to troubleshoot this? Thanks
 
Top