v5 - Video goes black on iphone app and web browser during playback

Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
29
Reaction score
4
Location
San Francisco
This was working until I upgraded to 5 yesterday. When I pull up alerts on the BlueIris iPhone App or the Web Browser using ActiveX, I hit the playback button and it goes black, when I stop it, a still shot appears. When I start it again it goes black again. I do notice that the playback time at the bottom does not seem to be in synch with the playback time at the top as if its not streaming the video to the player. Does anyone know what is causing this with version 5?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
I also encourage you to use the BVR format instead of MP4. Blue Iris doesn't have great handling of MP4, and if the program crashes or is otherwise closed during a recording, the MP4 recording will be corrupt while a BVR will be fine.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
Not specifically in relation to an upgrade, but the solution to MP4 playback problems is usually to install codecs.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
So your clips are already in bvr format? Do they play in the local console just fine?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
Nah, the codec pack doesn't really do anything for BVR playback in my experience.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
I do not know much about the activex plugin, but my clips DO play fine in it. I do not have a recent iOS device so cannot test that easily.

Do the clips play in ui3.htm? If you see the same problem there, it would suggest a problem with Blue Iris and I would suggest you contact BI support.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,349
Reaction score
6,676
Location
USA
Well, Blue Iris 5 recently updated the Intel Media SDK it was built with, so Intel hardware acceleration compatibility may have changed just a little bit.
 
Top