IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

WEB server display customisation

TGB

n3wb
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberta Canada
In my home configuration of BI4, I have a monitor that is situated in portrait orientation instead of the "normal" landscape orientation. In portrait mode, the images are shrunken as the UI take a lot of the side space. Also I would like to "stack" a number of feeds instead of the feeds appearing in a quadrature manner. I have tried to gleam how to do this by reading the documentation but the documentation is unclear ( or maybe I am missing something)
Any advice?
thank-you
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
Hi.

You can edit the frame size of any group camera stream to better fit your specific needs.

 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
If you need multiple layouts, you'll need to create multiple camera groups and change the frame size of each one differently.
 

TGB

n3wb
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberta Canada
HI there,
This setting works fine if one is using the actual BI4 computer; it does not seem to adjust the webpage interface (sorry that I wasn't clear about using the web instead of console interface)
Is there a way to set the webpage to behave the same way?
THANKS
T
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
That settings affects the web interface, not the local console. I don't know what you are talking about.
 

TGB

n3wb
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberta Canada
HI, apologies about my inexperience.
Screenshot of console interface :
\

console.jpg


screenshot of browser webpage

webpage.jpg



Maybe I'm doing something really dumb but I would like to access the BI4 computer remotely on a computer with the portrait monitor.
thanks for your patience
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
Ok, for four 16:9 cameras, try changing your All cameras group frame size to 848 x 1908.
 

TGB

n3wb
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberta Canada
Thank -you!
that seemed to do the trick.
Last question: I will have another6 cameras going onstream. Is that setting ok for that?

AND how can I repay you for your help?
 

TGB

n3wb
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberta Canada
CAn I assume that each camera group can display differently? So the portrait monitors can be thus and conventional landscape monitors can use the original setting?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
No repayment needed! When you have a total of 10 cameras, consider a resolution of about 768 x 2160. Assuming they are all 16:9 aspect ratio, this would allow them to arrange into a perfect grid of 2x5 cameras.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
Yes, you can create as many camera groups as you want and configure each of them with a different frame size. So you can have a different group for portrait view and for landscape.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wen

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,119
Reaction score
6,321
Location
USA
No repayment needed! When you have a total of 10 cameras, consider a resolution of about 768 x 2160. Assuming they are all 16:9 aspect ratio, this would allow them to arrange into a perfect grid of 2x5 cameras.
It occurs to me that the resolution I quoted here is only for a 1x5 grid. For a 2x5 grid, you would need to double that width, so 1536 x 2160. Depending on your display resolution it might be more efficient to go with something a little lower resolution like 1354 x 1904 or 1206 x 1696.
 
Top