Weird problem

MStevenT

n3wb
Reaction score
I have a Hikvision DS-2CD2232-I5 web camera. It has been working fine for a long time, but suddenly today we could not get live view from any PC or mobile, and we could not access it via our Synology NAS either. The stupid thing is, I can log into the camera directly via it's IP address and I can see, and modify it, via SADP. I tried changing passwords and IP address, but nothing makes any difference. I have rebooted the camera, and the router, no help. Oh, and another thing - when I log in directly, it tells me to install webcomponents in the live view screen, I have downloaded and installed webcomponents several times but it keeps asking for them and won't show me live view!

Does anyone have any clever ideas?

MStevenT

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks for the input. I have seen this news but I don't believe it affects me. All the parameters in SADP are as I set them, no reset to default. I work in IT security and am reasonably confident I have not been hacked.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I have downloaded and installed webcomponents several times but it keeps asking for them and won't show me live view!
IE11? Not Edge.
it tells me to install webcomponents in the live view screen,
Has the IP address changed?
am reasonably confident I have not been hacked.
With a Hikvision camera - that's actually a contradiction in terms.
What's the camera firmware version?

Suggestion -
See if the RTSP stream is available, to confirm not a sensor failure, easily done with ONVIF Device Manager (Live Video page) from sourceforge.net
Reset to defaults, see if that changes anything.

MStevenT

n3wb
Reaction score
Chrome not IE11 or Edge - Not showing the image in one browser I can understand but asking for a software download?
The IP address and all other parameters were the same (that's why I say hacking unlikely - also I don't have one of the affected routers).