What is going on with BlueIris?

jeremycolvin

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Ok... so I'm new to BlueIris... but something is going on that I can't explain. Two things actually...

Problem 1) It will run fine for hours at around 20-30% CPU - Then out of nowhere, it will spike to 95-100% CPU - and basically lock up my PC where it remains essentially stuck until I force BlueIris to shut down and restart it.

I have plenty of System Resources:

128 GB of memory
NVidia GeForce RTX 4090 GPU
I have BlueIris installed on a 2TB Samsung 980 Pro SSD (Drive "C")
I have NEW storage for BlueIris set to it's own 2TB Samsung 980 Pro SSD (Drive "S")
I have backup "Stored" (long term storage) going to a 14TB drive (Drive "T")
I am running the latest updated version of BlueIris - 7.7.9.1 x64 (8/8/2023)

Currently running 14 cameras.

Problem 2) Earlier today, I was watching a clip playback of a suspicious car. I flagged the clip and I protected the clip. Then out of nowhere BlueIris shut down. When I relaunched it, that clip, and all others within a few minutes before/after that clip are GONE. To make things even more strange... now it seems like BlueIris is removing more clips from the "all clips" section... (pointed out in pictures attached to this thread). Now pretty much everything prior to 9:56 PM from today is GONE, as well as pretty much all of yesterday. The physical files (which I assume are the .bvr files ARE still physically on the drive, and I would like to keep them for a safe backup of this suspicious car... but I have no idea how to play them other than from within blueiris.

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on with these two problems? Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks!

BlueIris.png

BlueIris2.png

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Memory leak with a driver probably for the CPU spike.

How much memory did you allocate for the New folder? Sounds like not enough.

jeremycolvin

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score