Which Camera IPC-HFW5241E-Z12E or Loryta IPC-B5442E-Z4E 4MP?

drh329

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am not new to IP cameras as I have a bunch of Amcrest cameras, but I am new to finding a camera thats going to be able to read plates and plates only as the rest of the view would be capture by another camera. Placement- Going to stick it on a tree about 10 feet high, the tree is about 10 feet from the road, I am looking at a distance of around 60 feet or so and an angle of around 20 degrees from the camera. I am looking for a decent camera under $300 or so and the 2 mentione seem to be very good choices. I do run blue iris, so any advice on a service to use with blue iris that will log the plates? I have done reading but after a while it all blurs together. I appreciate any and all help, thanks in advance.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Go with the Z12E. We only need 2MP for LPR and we need the plate as big as possible.

@biggen here tried the Z4E around that distance and "downgraded" to the Z12E at about a similar distance.

@IReallyLikePizza2 here has a camera in a similar spot and I think would recommend the more zoom as well...

Plate Recognizer works with Blue Iris - if you have less than 2500 plate lookups a month it is free. It will log each plate into the Blue Iris Log file that you can then import into Excel and do searches and queries and stuff.

Many of us use OpenALPR, but it doesn't work with Blue Iris. And a member here created a utility that logs and stores the plates.

See this thread where @biggen talks about his LPR with the Z4E

Reaction score
Here is a cap from a T5442 Z4E at 56 feet and at full zoom of 32mm.

INTS.20200719_200043674_1.jpg
Here is a cap from the 5241 Z12E at about the same distance and angle. The lens setting is at 52mm.

LPR East 2021-03-11 08.44.24.504 AM.jpg

If you are considering LPR, see the following threads:

IReallyLikePizza2

Known around here
Reaction score