Why can't I access IP camera from different computer (on same LAN)?

RubberDucky

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,

Complete newbie here...I am trying to setup my IP camera (Dahua HFW1831E). I've read until my head will explode and know just enough to be dangerous. The networking aspect is killing me.

I have a dedicated Windows 10 PC connected to my LAN via WIFI (10.0.0.X). I attached a POE switch to my PC's unused Ethernet port and my camera to the POE switch. Using ConfigTools, I've initialized the camera and changed it's IP address to be within the LAN subnet addresses (10.0.0.190), I also changed the PC's Ethernet card so it's IP address is in the same subnet (10.0.0.191) and can access the camera from this PC perfectly fine (using Web Browser).

However when I go to another PC on the same LAN (10.0.0.106) or my mobile phone (10.0.0.53), they cannot access the camera.

Why doesn't this work? Anyone brave enough to figure out what I don't understand and help me get it sorted out please? Thanks a lot.

Hammerhead786

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. You've only provided half the information. What is the subnet mask and default gateway of each device?

RubberDucky

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Subnet mask is 255.255.255.0. Does it really matter though since all the IP addresses have the first 24 bits the same? Regardless, that's what I used.

The default gateway for the wifi is the router at 10.0.0.1. That's the only one I knew so put it everywhere it was asked! Is there a gateway elsewhere? Maybe on the dedicated PC linking the Ethernet and WIFI together? I'm unclear on how that part works, if so then how/where would I find it/them?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Have you connected the switch back to your lan?

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Draw a picture of your network...