Why is everyone desperate to upgrade firmware?

Lunchietey

n3wb
Reaction score
OK so I am a super NOOB to IP stuff and have just finished my first part of my install around my house.

Stage one has been,
NVR - Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P with 4TB WD Purple drive(will add a second drive later)
2 x DS-2CD2232-I5 3MP Bullets
1 x DS-2CD3332-I 3MP 'Turret'
APC UPS to protect it.

This all covers the front of the house and the front door. Installation was easy and worked essentially plug and play. I already have a great image and it is a substantial increase in quality over my last Ebay sourced 5 cam TVL system.

So it all works quite well so whats the reason there seems to be an 'obsession' to upgrade every cam's software? So I have a great image, everything works and yet every second topic is "I want to change software...?"

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
As stated many times in the past. Please substantiate that with documentation from the manufacturer otherwise.

Thanks for your opinion.

Don
I am not going to rehash this argument again . The users can go read your fear mongering nonsense in the thread I linked to. Do not post anything further on this subject here. Any further posts by you will be deleted.

Lunchietey

n3wb
Reaction score
Ah ok, I guess that highlights my 'NOOBieness' to IP cams of this quality. I had no idea about some of those features etc. Probably something I won't ever need and as such I wouldn't risk all the issues people have by updating the firmware but at least I get the point of all the hassle if you really wanted/needed specific features :)

Doing more reading of my own, I noticed some are also shopping around and buying odd cams from wherever is cheap and getting Chinese cams etc and trying to change them to English etc

Thanks for the info Fenderman and the PDF was a great read!

Seeing as my cams are running stand alone, I will have no need to update :D

Last edited by a moderator:

NVR