Wiring up the Amcrest AD410, with a mechanical chime (D117)

Yippy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Location
United Kingdom
Hi all,
My doorbell should be arriving soon from the US, I wanted to wire up the doorbell with a DIN Transformer (VEMER VN319000) that can power both the doorbell using 24V and the chime with 12V.

List:
  • VEMER VN319000 12-24V 30VA Transformer Link
  • Honeywell Wired Doorbell D117 12V Link
  • Taiss/AC 24V Coil Electromagnetic Relay LY2NJ with YJTF08A-E Socket Base
  • Amcrest AD410 Link

Diagram:
Removed v1 diagram, it was wrong.

I'm just wondering if any electrician could double check if this is right, I've been following another tutorial for the Unifi Protect G4 Doorbell, and figured that having a stronger transformer would be future-proofing.

There is a chance that the Amcrest may not meet my requirement, so having this type of flexibility matters for me. There seems to be more powerful doorbell as time goes by, instead of POE solution.
 
Last edited:

Yippy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Location
United Kingdom
Made a mistake with the Relay connection, 7 is Live and 8 is Neutral. The chime kit is needed to avoid triggering the Relay
Amcrest AD410 Wiring With Chime v2.png

Update
This wiring works, I've manage to get the doorbell and the chime working. Chime can only work when going through the AD410 settings, to enable mechanical chime.

There is no noise coming from the transformer (with no enclosure), but upon pressing the doorbell the relay make this typewriter click to activate the doorbell chime. The only thing that is disappointed right now is the doorbell chime output, it doesn't seems to be 80db. Putting the Doorbell Chime enclosure helped amplify the sound, so far this setup seems to be more reliable than the previous EVIZ doorbell DB2 that was returned.
 
Last edited:

Smant11

n3wb
Joined
Oct 23, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Uk
@Yippy How reliable has this been for the past few months? Looking at doing a similar setup but I'm a little concerned about 1. some reports of the VN319000 proving more than 24v power (closer to 30v) and 2. I've read elsewhere 24v can fry the chime kit?
 

Yippy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Location
United Kingdom
@Yippy How reliable has this been for the past few months? Looking at doing a similar setup but I'm a little concerned about 1. some reports of the VN319000 proving more than 24v power (closer to 30v) and 2. I've read elsewhere 24v can fry the chime kit?
Worked fine all this time, running 24/7. Much better user experience than my previous doorbell cam, highly recommended.

Though I haven't personally checked the volt output, maybe you getting worried over different brands out there that are faulty.
 

jstreak15

n3wb
Joined
Oct 21, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Hi @Yippy hope you're having a great new year :D Thanks for sharing your experience on this forum - I've found it super helpful. One thing I didn't understand was the need for the relay. What is it used for? Can I exclude this relay from the setup? Thanks in advance!
 

Yippy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Location
United Kingdom
Hi @Yippy hope you're having a great new year :D Thanks for sharing your experience on this forum - I've found it super helpful. One thing I didn't understand was the need for the relay. What is it used for? Can I exclude this relay from the setup? Thanks in advance!
Yup, will be looking forward to this new year :D. To help with your issue, yes you'll need the relay to ping the mechanical door chime, cause the voltage is different. The mechanical door chime is 12V and the Amcrest is 24V, the Amcrest will send a pulse to the relay to activate the chime.
 
Top