Working with settings of cameras / Dahua / BlueIris

Spizz

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to the entire Cam world and have recently bought and installed a Dahua IPC-HFW2831T-ZS 8MP IP Camera.

Is there any rule of thumb when configuring camera Video Settings.
I've got it set in an outdoor area capturing my front yard and the street/main road.
I've set the camera to continuous recording because there is lots of traffic with cars etc so Motion Detection is disabled for this one.

Just wondering what settings I should be trying to work with. Not 100% familiar on what the best bitrate would or encode mode etc.

Also, with these cameras added into BlueIris, under the Network IP camera configuration settings, what should the Make, Model be set to? Any other settings here I should be aware of changing?
Picture attached.

Attachments

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
Set your i Frame to be same as your FPS (25)
8192 is a good bitrate. Unless you have concerns about storage, the higher bitrate the better.
You may want to record both continuous AND motion/IVS. It makes it much easier to find events in playback.

Settings are unique to the view and what youre trying to capture. How does it look to you? Post a day and night full res image

Not a Blue Iris user so can't help there.

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Blue Iris set most of my Dahuas to Generic/ONVIF type. I used the Find/Inspect button, so BI connected to it and figured all of the settings out fine.

BI has pretty advanced motion detection. You should be able to setup motion detection within BI that just covers your front yard and ignores the street. There should be a lot of good BI tutorial videos in one of the forums here.

Spizz

n3wb
Reaction score
Cool.
I'll play around with a few settings in video output and post some vids here shortly.