Worth the upgrade from HDCVI?

Arkangel86

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hey folks, first post here.

I currently have a 4 2.4mp Varifocal Cam Dahua HDCVI system. After some close to home burglarys I ordered 4 4MP Varifocal HDCVI Dahuas to upgrade to and move my old ones to surround my house.

Well I found out yesterday that I need a new DVR that supports 4MP, $2-300 plus a new HDD another $115, and a new power supply for 8 cams $50, so I am looking at possibly a whole new IP system since the cost will be close and it seems IP is the future.

I saw the Lorex 4k kit at costco is on sale for 699, but have read mixed reviews, so I am considering just ordering up a Dahua system, since it is what I have been using for a couple years now.

So is it worth changing over to a IP system from my current HDCVI set up? Dahua 4k is too expensive now so Id go with 4mp for now.

I would have to run new wire but at least only 1 wire. I have pretty good ambient lighting in my cul de sac.

Thanks for any insight

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score

I currently have a 4 2.4mp Varifocal Cam Dahua HDCVI system. After some close to home burglarys I ordered 4 4MP Varifocal HDCVI Dahuas to upgrade to and move my old ones to surround my house.

Well I found out yesterday that I need a new DVR that supports 4MP, $2-300 plus a new HDD another $115, and a new power supply for 8 cams $50, so I am looking at possibly a whole new IP system since the cost will be close and it seems IP is the future.

I saw the Lorex 4k kit at costco is on sale for 699, but have read mixed reviews, so I am considering just ordering up a Dahua system, since it is what I have been using for a couple years now.

So is it worth changing over to a IP system from my current HDCVI set up? Dahua 4k is too expensive now so Id go with 4mp for now.

I would have to run new wire but at least only 1 wire. I have pretty good ambient lighting in my cul de sac.

Thanks for any insight