Help someone thats new please

TimSee

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello I am new to this and I am looking for any support that I can get..
I am looking at getting about 10 to 12 8MP cams POE using the TP-Ling T1500.
I would like to use Blue Iris

I am running cable this weekend or next (I am starting with 4 cams then eventually adding more).
I am not to sure on the tech the specs when it comes to computers I can navigate software install programs put stuff together I just dont no much about specs.

I would like to have a main server at home where I can have everything stored from the cams. I would like my recordings to be saved hoping for at least 1 week if not more. I dont want to have to be worried if my computer will be able to handle everything..

I guess what I am asking is that is there a all in one system you would recommend to run blue iris that can support external hard drives for store or a smaller server with a few TB hard drivers? Thanks for any help

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi.

While Blue Iris can handle this, it is getting close to the limit of what can be handled well. Unlike most VMS (video management software), Blue Iris always decodes incoming video from all cameras. Video decoding is very CPU-intensive work, and 8 MP cameras produce a lot of video, so Blue Iris doesn't really handle them efficiently compared to other VMS.

In this wiki page you can find my rule-of-thumb for choosing a CPU for Blue Iris, but for convenience, I will copy it here:

0-500 MP/s ----- 3rd-7th gen i5 desktop CPU (4 cores)
500-800 MP/s --- 3rd-7th gen i7 desktop CPU (4 cores + hyperthreading) or 8th-9th gen i5 desktop CPU (6 cores)
800-1100 MP/s -- i7-8700 (6 cores + hyperthreading) or i7-9700 (8 cores) or the K edition of either
1100-1500 MP/s - i9-9900K
1500+ MP/s ----- Then it varies. Pick something near the top of this chart, or consider a different VMS than Blue Iris.