Another Huisun Mini PTZ v1 somewhat dead - 4 months

dmanindfw

n3wb
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Well I got a few months (about 4) out of it. Still will go through self test but SADP will not detect it any longer. Tried multiple computers, POE injector, separate power supply, various Ethernet cables (5e, 6, etc.)... No matter what I tried nothing seems to be able to communicate with it. Had it connected with my LTS NVR (OEM Hikvision) and it had been working quite well. Then out of the blue one day...nothing, no communication, no picture. Based on when it died I believe it was during or right after a rain storm. The camera however was well protected under the garage overhang. The IR still lights up but no one else is home. Have tried everything but I think it is done. It is possible that I have missed something. Anyone in Dallas/Ft. Worth willing to try get it up and running again? I'll pay with beer :)

Replaced with a new Hik turret and all is well again, just no PTZ.

Very disappointed and I know that there is essentially no warranty and it's not worth the trouble and expense getting them fixed. Lesson learned.

I do have to say though that it had a fantastic picture and I really wish it had lasted longer. It was a fun camera but I will not be purchasing another Huisun unless they are offered at a great price with a full warranty from a US supplier. A 4 month life is well, just poor.
 

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
2,731
Reaction score
291
Location
UK - England
Not good. I mean that's the risk of importing, if it was a US supplier who had to replace 10% under warranty for example (or more with PoE issues) then they would have to charge much more. Would you pay $250 to $300 for a local one? I guess not. I know I wouldn't!

Can you ping the camera? Maybe it's not dead dead.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,271
Location
Denver, CO
No US Vendor is stupid enough to support these things, Huisun is a direct to end-consumer company only.. and the'll disappear and come back under another name once there reputation is clearly established.

these cameras are nowhere near pro grade quality, they are unreliable junk.. and that's a fact; buy at your own risk.
 

klasipca

Banned
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
3,146
Reaction score
749
So, perhaps hot weather might be killing v1s, It's been in the 90+ in Ft Dallas in the past week. Need to check with Monica if they improved design in v2s
 

dmanindfw

n3wb
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
It actually died a couple of months ago when the weather was much more reasonable. I mess with it a couple of times a week until the kids drive me crazy or I want to throw it in the trash. The camera saw no direct sunlight as it's under the roof overhang and also on the north side of my home. Also I believe it was raining when it went offline. I bought it in December and it made it until April or so, so again it really didn't have to suffer through any hot temps at all. Any thoughts? Again will go through self test when connected to NVR, a POE injector, or when 12v powered. But no communication can be established with it.

I never expected pro grade and was aware of it's limitations - slow pan and tilt, etc. It was strictly to be used at my home to monitor drive and kiddos.
 

Interpon

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
13
Im no expert nor think all specs are accurate, but every ptz i see is poe+ At min minus heaters. The specs for this is 18 watts, more than standard poe. Add into this about 100 foot cat 5e or 6 wouldnt low voltage/ wattage cause issues after a while? I bought poe+ to power this and not off my standard poe my non ptz cams.
wonder what f any failed with poe+ from the beginning?
 

Git

Banned
Joined
Sep 14, 2014
Messages
212
Reaction score
33
I wonder if you are on to something regarding the poe+

I have both my V1 10x connected to the same poe+ switch and they are both exposed to the elements. Last weekend it was 100 degrees here and it looks like this weekend it is going to get back up to the low 100's

I have had zero problems with mine - but again, it is getting plenty of power
 

klasipca

Banned
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
3,146
Reaction score
749
Mine v2s are connected to poe+ except one which is connect to nvr poe port.
 

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
2,731
Reaction score
291
Location
UK - England
PoE+ is backwards compatible to PoE. The only difference (that I can think of is that) you might have is that your PoE+ switch is a bit beefier so won't suffer from overloading.

Seems like a red herring to me but you never know!
 

Interpon

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
13
Agree, but if it needs 18 watts and poe is 15.x watts plus line loss wouldnt that under power it?
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,271
Location
Denver, CO
Power usage testing with a KillaWatt:

Power up: up to 6 watt
Idle 2 bottom leds: 5 watt
Idle 2 upper leds: 7 watt
Idle no leds: 1-2 watt
PTZ action with 2 bottom leds: spiked to 11 watt, but stayed between 9-10 watt
PTZ action with 2 upper leds: 11 watt
PTZ action no leds: 2 watt
taken from another thread
 

Interpon

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
13
Ya seen that from klasipca, wonder if that was from direct power supply. Dont disagree just going by the specs given..
killawatt 0.02% accurate too it says. Who knows maybe it spikes usage sometimes..
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,271
Location
Denver, CO
under powering a device should never damage it, you'd have to really try hard to design circuitry that would do such nonsense.. there are plenty of reported issues with these cams not booting up properly without adequate power, they all seem to operate just fine when enough power is avilable.

basically what would happen is the motors would starve the board of power and it'd reset unexpectedly... and with the calibration dance at boot, it'd get stuck in a loop.. in theory if you just let this happen for an extended time you'd cause excessive wear, but nobody has done that to my knowledge.
 

fmflex

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 11, 2014
Messages
180
Reaction score
24
FWIW, touch wood my v1 purchased September 2015 and installed in December is still going strong and coming up to 6 months. When it was installed it copped 2 1/2 months of pretty high temps with stretches of 36 - 44 degrees (96 - 111 degrees) for days. After that it's copped quite a few torrential downpours and gotten down to just over 1 degree (34 degrees). Mine's mounted on a junction box on the fascia under the gutter so not under any sort of cover. The idea is to supplement this with a couple of fixed VF domes when I get around to installing them as I was planning to install a VF dome but opted for the v1 instead. Mine's powered by off a poe+ switch, it doesn't do any patrols or anything and any movement and zoom is manually driven.
 

dmanindfw

n3wb
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Well Melissa from Monitech told me to ship the camera back to them for repair. UPS wants to charge $159 for shipping to China. Um yeah, no thanks. Looks like this one will be written off as trash unless someone local wants to try and troubleshoot it for me and get it up and running again. Could be an issue with my gear, network, me, etc. It at least is receiving power since it does run through the self test. Any takers?
 

wxman

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 15, 2015
Messages
631
Reaction score
162
Location
Southern United States
Well Melissa from Monitech told me to ship the camera back to them for repair. UPS wants to charge $159 for shipping to China. Um yeah, no thanks. Looks like this one will be written off as trash unless someone local wants to try and troubleshoot it for me and get it up and running again. Could be an issue with my gear, network, me, etc. It at least is receiving power since it does run through the self test. Any takers?
You should be able to ship First Class International Mail from the post office in the $30 range...Also, if I remember correctly, Melissa even had another member of this board ship to a U.S. address for a replacement one time.
 
Top