Basic Questions in relation to a few common models and recommendations

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been using Shinobi for many years now with a decent number of some Chinese market Dahuas with very few issues. Due to stormy weather I've recently had a few go down and the replacements I chose weren't quite as satisfactory, so I'm reaching out here in hopes I could find something that is a bit of a better fit.

I wanted to address two points to start with: 1. Why are Chinese market cameras which are reflashed with English firmware typically so hated in here, and 2. What are the hot models of the present time?

1. I've read the wiki, and I've browsed various articles here over the years - I'm aware of the obvious answers in relation to why Chinese cameras are disliked. You don't always know what modifications are made to the cameras, they pose an additional security concern, they may not be up to spec with what was advertised, sometimes you can't update the firmware, and perhaps a few others. But here's the thing - Plenty of people run Chinese cameras without any notable problems whatsoever in regards to video quality and features, the cameras should have no networking access besides the NVR anyways, and so long as the camera functions as advertised, I'm not sure why I'd ever want to try to update their firmware. My personal experience has always been fine with them, but perhaps I've always just been lucky, or have always bought from decent enough sellers/models.

I'm not trying to start an argument about this point, but I want to actually understand the arguments against Chinese cameras. I get that for some people it's just a safer play to buy from someone like Andy where you know for sure what you'll get, but other than that, I'd like to know and understand the reasoning behind this. To be completely clear, I'm just looking for an educational explanation on this point, thank you.