IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Best O/S for Blue Iris

bigbadw

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
186
Reaction score
33
fenderman, nayr, any recommendations on the best O/S to use for Blue Iris?
I am currently running Windows 10 Pro, and wondered if a linux O/S would offer better granular control of components.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,256
Reaction score
10,221
fenderman, nayr, any recommendations on the best O/S to use for Blue Iris?
I am currently running Windows 10 Pro, and wondered if a linux O/S would offer better granular control of components.
blue iris is windows only...windows 10 pro is what I use.
 

bigbadw

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
186
Reaction score
33
blue iris is windows only...windows 10 pro is what I use.
Thanks fenderman. How many cameras do you run? I just added my final camera tonight, a Hikvision Dark box camera (nicknamed, "DarkNight").

This all leads me to believe I need some serious configuring, both to lean out Widows 10 Pro and Blue Iris..
I'm rereading all of the Blue Iris Help files and seeing what I'm missing.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,256
Reaction score
10,221
Thanks fenderman. How many cameras do you run? I just added my final camera tonight, a Hikvision Dark box camera (nicknamed, "DarkNight").

This all leads me to believe I need some serious configuring, both to lean out Widows 10 Pro and Blue Iris..
I'm rereading all of the Blue Iris Help files and seeing what I'm missing.
It varies..I run about 20 systems...some with only 4 some with 12..
You must set all the cams to record in direct to disk mode..and enable hardware acceleration if your cpu supports it.
How many cams? what resolution? what are the system specs.
You dont have to do anything special to "lean out" windows. Its already lean. Ensure that blue iris is excluded from any antivirus/windows defender.
 

bigbadw

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
186
Reaction score
33
Seriously, I cannot express how much I appreciate you taking the time to talk with me.
--------------------------------------
I have a dedicate PC running only the latest Blue Iris and Windows 10 Pro (64bit).
- CPU: i7-3770k,
- 8G ram,
- 4 hard drives (1-OS, 2-main Blue Iris hard drive, 3-Hard drive for License Plate Capture camera 1 and now "Dark Knight camera", 4-Hard drive dedicated to License Plate Capture camera 2) Each hard drive is connected via eSata cables.
- 12 total cameras. (differing models of Hikvison)
- Resolutions vary but most are 4MP. Two are 6MP, and newest one is 2MP.
- The Cameras themselves are set so that the i-Frame and fps are the same.
- Blue Iris is set to 20MB receive buffer.
- All set "Direct to Disk"
- Windows Firewall is set to all BlueIris.
- I just set an exclusion in "Windows Defender" to (BlueIris)
- (is this the correct way to identify it and its processes? I went to Processes/Exclude a .exe, .com or .scr process, and added the word "BlueIris")

CPU runs at 50% with 11 cameras.
CPU runs at 50-70% with 12 cameras (Highest at night, with 4 cameras grouped to trigger)
CPU runs at 90+% with 13 cameras (I just recently added a Hikvision DS-2CD6026FHWD-A3, Ultra-Dark vision camera (named Dark Knight))
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,256
Reaction score
10,221
Seriously, I cannot express how much I appreciate you taking the time to talk with me.
--------------------------------------
I have a dedicate PC running only the latest Blue Iris and Windows 10 Pro (64bit).
- CPU: i7-3770k,
- 8G ram,
- 4 hard drives (1-OS, 2-main Blue Iris hard drive, 3-Hard drive for License Plate Capture camera 1 and now "Dark Knight camera", 4-Hard drive dedicated to License Plate Capture camera 2) Each hard drive is connected via eSata cables.
- 12 total cameras. (differing models of Hikvison)
- Resolutions vary but most are 4MP. Two are 6MP, and newest one is 2MP.
- The Cameras themselves are set so that the i-Frame and fps are the same.
- Blue Iris is set to 20MB receive buffer.
- All set "Direct to Disk"
- Windows Firewall is set to all BlueIris.
- I just set an exclusion in "Windows Defender" to (BlueIris)
- (is this the correct way to identify it and its processes? I went to Processes/Exclude a .exe, .com or .scr process, and added the word "BlueIris")

CPU runs at 50% with 11 cameras.
CPU runs at 50-70% with 12 cameras (Highest at night, with 4 cameras grouped to trigger)
CPU runs at 90+% with 13 cameras (I just recently added a Hikvision DS-2CD6026FHWD-A3, Ultra-Dark vision camera (named Dark Knight))
CPU seems high when you add 2 more cams...
ensure that you enabled direct to disk on the new cams...are you running the
I would exclude windows defender from the entire blue iris program folder as well as all your storage folders (you dont want it scanning a file as its being written to storage) https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/instantanswers/64495205-6ddb-4da1-8534-1aeaf64c0af8/add-an-exclusion-to-windows-defender
have you enabled hardware acceleration?
Another thing to consider is more memory...even though BI doesnt look like it needs more memory, it might.
Blue iris and CPU consumption as it relates to memory usage
 

bigbadw

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
186
Reaction score
33
Holy crap fenderman, now I want to add you to my Christmas Card list!

I added those tuning items and am amazed at the difference "hardware acceleration" made. I added in the additional two cameras (a total of 13 running) and the CPU dropped down to 35%! I didn't even try "Video Post Processing (VPP)" option.
All folders and BI app have been excluded from Windows Defender.

Now to see if my original issue is gone.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,256
Reaction score
10,221
Don't use vpp... It's only to be used with a low camera count..
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,253
Location
Denver, CO
hardware acceleration is pretty much a must-have when dealing with HD video anymore; if it were not for video decoding hardware your phone would choke on a youtube video while emptying the battery in record time.. Ive tested a lil raspberry pi up to 16 streams on a 1080p monitor and it was just being powered by 5v USB port; cpu load was not that high.

video is way too compressed to try to do it all in cpu anymore, even with awesome cpu's its they will consume 10x the power to accomplish a fraction what can be done w/dedicated hardware.
 

bigbadw

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
186
Reaction score
33
Thank you for all your help on this!

fenderman, you did it! You actually resolved that stinkin' technical issue that was hiding from me for so long! I am going to reply on the original "freeze frame/ghosting" thread, just in case it can help people in the future. It was hardware acceleration, and Defender.............. those bad guys were clogging up the system!
 

Souvik

n3wb
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Kolkata
What about user management in blue iris.Like, i just want to share only 4 or 6 camera out of 52 to our security room,how this could be possible ?
 

ldasilva

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
448
Reaction score
245
What about user management in blue iris.Like, i just want to share only 4 or 6 camera out of 52 to our security room,how this could be possible ?
make group of cameras to share
add user
edit user limit user to that group *save*
done
 
Top