Best spots to mount cameras?

Squaddup

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey guys so Im just about ready to pull the trigger on these IPC-HDW2231R-ZS which was recommended by @EMPIRETECANDY.. I was wondering how and where would u mount the cameras? I've never done this before so I'm just tryna learn through this forum.. Thanks and would love to hear your thoughts.

I left a few photo's

Attachments

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
For starters welcome and read the Wiki and cover all entrances and exits, garage etc. Don’t mount much if any over 7’ so you won’t see the tops of heads. Spend your time reading and then read more. You’ll likely want different cameras for various locations. How many cams? Using an NVR or PC and Blue Iris? Is your cable run? Each cam has corresponding mounts.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hey guys so Im just about ready to pull the trigger on these IPC-HDW2231R-ZS which was recommended by @EMPIRETECANDY.. I was wondering how and where would u mount the cameras? I've never done this before so I'm just tryna learn through this forum.. Thanks and would love to hear your thoughts.

I left a few photo's
Welcome @Squaddup

Look for the test rig and the cliff notes for ideas.

Setup a test rig and one camera and test possible locations.

I would a have at least 2 cameras covering the parking area by the garage door - one on each side of the door - about 6-8 feet high. Test the locations at night as the lights on the side will affect your camera placement.

Squaddup

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks guys. Yeah I'm thinking 6 cameras all together. @mat200 do you mean one outter side of the house and one in the garage.. And also is any reason I shouldn't buy all of the same cameras? All cameras will be outdoors
Gonna buy just 2 cams just to get a little experience with em first.
Welcome @Squaddup

Look for the test rig and the cliff notes for ideas.

Setup a test rig and one camera and test possible locations.