Black Friday?

Zoraman

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am a newb to all this and am in the market for a security camera system. Just wanting to know if the peeps on here might know of any good deals that maybe available for black friday? I am looking for a 6-8 camera system that is middle to high end for a home. I have been into the home automation hobby for a few years and have always wanted to install a nice home camera system. Right now I have 2 older foscams for indoor use but have been intimidated on pulling the trigger on a full blown outdoor/indoor system. I have looked at all the "brand name" complete systems in best buy, sam's, amazon, etc... But then I come on here to read up and it looks like everyone is talking about other cameras and build your own system type of thing. Could anyone give me some advice on what the difference is with the cameras that are on these boards compared to the big box complete systems? Also which camera set-up do you recommend? Hikvision,etc.

Thanks,

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
If your looking for surveillance related deals you can usually find HDD's for cheap on BF; check newegg/microcenter/amazon for desktop or server grade disks 4TB or bigger.. just dont get any archival storage for video surveillance; its cheap and tempting but totally inappropriate.

WD Purples are unlikely to go on blackfriday sale; but WD Reds likely will and they are the next best thing.

randytsuch

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
If your looking for surveillance related deals you can usually find HDD's for cheap on BF; check newegg/microcenter/amazon for desktop or server grade disks 4TB or bigger.. just dont get any archival storage for video surveillance; its cheap and tempting but totally inappropriate.

WD Purples are unlikely to go on blackfriday sale; but WD Reds likely will and they are the next best thing.
I was hoping for a purples bf sale at amazon, wishful thinking?

Is the red "good enough"?

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor