Blue Iris and Amazon Echo Show

BlueRidge

n3wb
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Here
So, you know what the Monacle Alexa skill does with your info/feed?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,623
Reaction score
13,025
So, you know what the Monacle Alexa skill does with your info/feed?
Yes. Nothing. It's an instruction set for local viewing as explained in their site. There is no way for them to get your feed. But if you are paranoid why would you trust the blue iris developer or amazon?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,623
Reaction score
13,025
OK. Believe what you want.
You simply don't understand how if works. If you dont port forward the camera, no one can access it. So pout about wishing for the developer to do it, but don't email support and ask
 

John Mak

n3wb
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Charlotte, NC
What us the URL / configuration you put on Monocle? Just connecting by internal IP or you have to opening it to internet with host name too?
 

greg_mitch

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
96
Reaction score
15
Does anyone care to share their monoclecam setup page so I can see what a successful setup looks like? I can't get mine to work. It just keeps saying "Hmmm, the camera is not responding."monoclecam_setup.JPG
 

DsineR

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
201
Reaction score
197
Location
CA
Monocle Dashboard example.JPG I found the usual reason for failure to connect was an incorrect RSTP string, here's a sample working config with Hikvision & Dahua cams. Note all IP addys are internal private LAN, with no port forwarding, etc.
 

greg_mitch

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
96
Reaction score
15
View attachment 40859 I found the usual reason for failure to connect was an incorrect RSTP string, here's a sample working config with Hikvision & Dahua cams. Note all IP addys are internal private LAN, with no port forwarding, etc.
Great thanks. I just realized I could quickly test rtsp streams in VLC. I fixed all of them but the RCA doorbell cam. I can see it in BI and in VLC, but not on Echo Show.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

greg_mitch

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
96
Reaction score
15
Great thanks. I just realized I could quickly test rtsp streams in VLC. I fixed all of them but the RCA doorbell cam. I can see it in BI and in VLC, but not on Echo Show.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have also downloaded, installed, and configured the Monocle Cam Gateway. I now have all but 1 camera working on each Fire TV and Echo Show which is pretty slick and much better quality than the Roku app work around.

Not sure what options I have for my RCA doorbell camera though...looks like I need a replacement or just accept that I have coverage from other cameras and use simple Ring or other cloud service for dedicated doorbell camera.
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
209
Reaction score
270
With 'Prime Day' just around the corner, I was thinking about picking up an Echo Show 2nd generation. This seems to be working out or does anyone have a better suggestion?
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
209
Reaction score
270
For follow up. Picked up an Echo Show 2nd generation on sale. It was very easy to set up our front door camera, which is a Hik DS-2CD2042WD-I. using a free account at Monocolcam.com

I followed their procedure on this web page:
Getting Started | Monocle

For the Hik I am using this for the stream (tested in VLC player first)
rtsp:/192.168.x.xxx:554/Streaming/Channels/1 main stream
rtsp:/192.168.x.xxx:554/Streaming/Channels/102 substream

I did run into problems with a Dahua Cam - but that is probably because I am using H265 and it is not supported. I bought this mainly to be able to see the front door from the Kitchen and for that, it appears it will work great.

Alexa - show Front Door

Note, we have a bunch of the regular Echo's throughout the house and use them for voice command to control lights, etc
 

ptforums

n3wb
Joined
Mar 31, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
4
For the Hik I am using this for the stream (tested in VLC player first)
rtsp:/192.168.x.xxx:554/Streaming/Channels/1 main stream
rtsp:/192.168.x.xxx:554/Streaming/Channels/102 substream
I am also using Hikvision's and the Monocle Gateway but the following url format.

rtsp:/192.168.0.xxx:554/ch1/sub/av_stream <= for the sub stream
rtsp:/192.168.0.xxx:554/ch1/main/av_stream <= for the main stream
 
Top