Blue Iris and DeepStack ALPR

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
Try doing a complete reboot
Done, didn't seem to help.

1663531384701.png


Just looking at the above, what is /DeepStack/ALPR, is that meant to be a directory? Could it be I needed to open an ALPR directory here?

1663531465505.png
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
@pbc please check your permissions again. I was getting similar errors until I made sure every use had full control.
Permissions are all fine...

1663536750484.png

IIRC, your errors specifically said "Permission error" vs "Value Error"?
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
Post the full DS_ALPR_config.ini less PW
Code:
; If Blue Iris and DeepStack is installed with default settings no changes needed, otherwise adjusted as needed
    bi_server = [URL unfurl="true"]http://127.0.0.1:911[/URL]
    ds_server = [URL unfurl="true"]http://127.0.0.1:81[/URL]
    alpr_server_ip = 127.0.0.1
    alpr_server_port = 5000

; Blue Iris userid and password is needed so script can communicate back to Blue Iris (must have admin rights)
    userid =
    password =

[ds_lpr]
; Blue Iris short name for cropped licence plate camera and resolution settings
    camera = ALPR
    image_x = 160
    image_y = 120

; Use to rotate cropped licence plate, positive number for CCW or negative number for CW
    rotate_deg = 0

; If cropped licence plate is rotated increase number by "1" until black corners are removed
    image_offset = 0

; If Blue Iris is installed with default settings no changes needed, where script will save the cropped licence plate
    cropped_directory = C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5\www\ALPR

[ds_ocr]
; Where cropped camera's alert directory is
    lpr_directory = C:\BlueIris\Alerts\ALPR\*

; Leave default setting of 4, how close the characters can be before the inferior one is ignored
    overlapping_threshold = 4

; Leave default setting 0.40, if worst confidence is less than this, the result wont be written to output_logfile
    min_conf_thres = 0.40

; Leave default setting of 2, if there is not more than this number of characters detected on the plate, the result wont be written to output_logfile
    min_len_thres = 2

; Leave default setting of 8, if there is more character detected than this number, program will cut out the weakest confidence characters until value met.
    plate_len_threshold = 8

; Leave default setting of 0.150 ms
    path_delay = 0.150
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
4,252
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Code:
; If Blue Iris and DeepStack is installed with default settings no changes needed, otherwise adjusted as needed
    bi_server = [URL unfurl="true"]http://127.0.0.1:911[/URL]
    ds_server = [URL unfurl="true"]http://127.0.0.1:81[/URL]
    alpr_server_ip = 127.0.0.1
    alpr_server_port = 5000

; Blue Iris userid and password is needed so script can communicate back to Blue Iris (must have admin rights)
    userid =
    password =

[ds_lpr]
; Blue Iris short name for cropped licence plate camera and resolution settings
    camera = ALPR
    image_x = 160
    image_y = 120

; Use to rotate cropped licence plate, positive number for CCW or negative number for CW
    rotate_deg = 0

; If cropped licence plate is rotated increase number by "1" until black corners are removed
    image_offset = 0

; If Blue Iris is installed with default settings no changes needed, where script will save the cropped licence plate
    cropped_directory = C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5\www\ALPR

[ds_ocr]
; Where cropped camera's alert directory is
    lpr_directory = C:\BlueIris\Alerts\ALPR\*

; Leave default setting of 4, how close the characters can be before the inferior one is ignored
    overlapping_threshold = 4

; Leave default setting 0.40, if worst confidence is less than this, the result wont be written to output_logfile
    min_conf_thres = 0.40

; Leave default setting of 2, if there is not more than this number of characters detected on the plate, the result wont be written to output_logfile
    min_len_thres = 2

; Leave default setting of 8, if there is more character detected than this number, program will cut out the weakest confidence characters until value met.
    plate_len_threshold = 8

; Leave default setting of 0.150 ms
    path_delay = 0.150
Post a screenshot like the below with your settings

1663540729323.png
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
Hmmm...think I found it...one sec..

No maybe not. I thought maybe it was the below

I changed the config file as follows:

1663542484448.png


Because I don't have an ALPR directory in this folder:

1663542541685.png

Which removed the ValueError, but still getting no Chars. I should have started completely from scratch vs using my existing BI setup where I had changed the ports and directories ages ago.

1663542594875.png

This was the last shot (car.jpg and alpr.jpg):

1663542675721.png1663542691666.png
 
Last edited:

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
Okay, so maybe something to do with the folder/file names as you are alluding @MikeLud1 :

My LPR Camera Setup:

1663543505832.png

BI Clips and Storage:
1663543536464.png1663543573153.png


Cropped Camera:

1663543604614.png1663543631389.png

C: Drive structure:

1663543714118.png


1663543743229.png

Config file:

1663543777544.png
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
4,252
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Okay, so maybe something to do with the folder/file names as you are alluding @MikeLud1 :

My LPR Camera Setup:

View attachment 140351

BI Clips and Storage:
View attachment 140353View attachment 140354


Cropped Camera:

View attachment 140356View attachment 140357

C: Drive structure:

View attachment 140359


View attachment 140360

Config file:

View attachment 140361
Try one more thing in the LPR camera checkoff Use Main Stream if available, this will make sure a Hires image is used to do the OCR

1663545152777.png
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
Try one more thing in the LPR camera checkoff Use Main Stream if available, this will make sure a Hires image is used to do the OCR

View attachment 140374
Checked it. Still having issues. I'm convinced it is a directory/storage mismatch somewhere.

1663549152594.png

This isn't making sense, my last ALPR.jpg was from 1:20pm today, my last "car.jpg" is from a few minutes ago.

1663549296983.png

1663549314002.png


What is this File path.txt meant to do exactly? I.e. setting it up in the Immediate Actions/Trigger tab of the cropped camera, is it supposed to tell the camera were to save the images?

1663549728180.png
 
Last edited:

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
4,252
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Checked it. Still having issues. I'm convinced it is a directory/storage mismatch somewhere.

View attachment 140385

This isn't making sense, my last ALPR.jpg was from 1:20pm today, my last "car.jpg" is from a few minutes ago.

View attachment 140386

View attachment 140387


What is this File path.txt meant to do exactly? I.e. setting it up in the Immediate Actions/Trigger tab of the cropped camera, is it supposed to tell the camera were to save the images?

View attachment 140388
What it does it lets DeepStackALPR know the alert file name so it can save the two highlighted files. Do you have a ALPR folder where your alerts are being saved.

1663550178070.png
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
What it does it lets DeepStackALPR know the alert file name so it can save the two highlighted files. Do you have a ALPR folder where your alerts are being saved.

View attachment 140389
Which cam should be pointing to that directory? The main LPR cam (ie record tab where it saves jpgs?)
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
4,252
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Which cam should be pointing to that directory? The main LPR cam (ie record tab where it saves jpgs?)
It is the cam that has the cropped license plate. This cam only save an alert image in the Alert\ALPR folder, no setting need to be changed in the record tab.
 

pbc

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
156
It is the cam that has the cropped license plate. This cam only save an alert image in the Alert\ALPR folder, no setting need to be changed in the record tab.
Okay, I think that is the problem. The ALPR directory has not been created within the Alerts folder. Am I supposed to manually create it or is there a setting somewhere in the Crop camera to tell it to save alerts to that folder?
1663586736109.png
Come to think of it, I'm not sure how the FrontDoor, Driveway and LPR ones were created below, I thought it was created by adding "&CAM\%Y%m%d\&CAM.%Y%m%d_%H%M%S" into the "Record JPG" section of the Record tab, but it is not doing it for any of my other cameras?

E,g my Garage camera has alerts from yesterday that are saved into the main Alerts folder below vs a subfolder with the name "Garage" on it, even though I have that same thing setup. E.g., Driveway and Garage Record tabs noted below:

1663586883042.png1663586901083.png
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
4,252
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Okay, I think that is the problem. The ALPR directory has not been created within the Alerts folder. Am I supposed to manually create it or is there a setting somewhere in the Crop camera to tell it to save alerts to that folder?
View attachment 140409
Come to think of it, I'm not sure how the FrontDoor, Driveway and LPR ones were created below, I thought it was created by adding "&CAM\%Y%m%d\&CAM.%Y%m%d_%H%M%S" into the "Record JPG" section of the Record tab, but it is not doing it for any of my other cameras?

E,g my Garage camera has alerts from yesterday that are saved into the main Alerts folder below vs a subfolder with the name "Garage" on it, even though I have that same thing setup. E.g., Driveway and Garage Record tabs noted below:

View attachment 140411View attachment 140412
Below are all my settings for my ALPR (cropped image camera). For the both record folders I use &CAM\%Y%m%d\&CAM.%Y%m%d_%H%M%S

1663589126105.png1663589146049.png1663589189509.png
1663589231826.png1663589271753.png1663589299561.png
1663589378282.png1663589477757.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: pbc
Top