Blue Iris and DeepStack ALPR

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
955
Reaction score
147
Below are all my settings for my ALPR (cropped image camera). For the both record folders I use &CAM\%Y%m%d\&CAM.%Y%m%d_%H%M%S

View attachment 140416View attachment 140417View attachment 140418
View attachment 140419View attachment 140420View attachment 140421
View attachment 140422View attachment 140423
Bingo...that was it. Didn't realize I had to copy and paste "&CAM\%Y%m%d\&CAM.%Y%m%d_%H%M%S" into every profile (some were syncing with other cameras).

Voila.. Now to figure out focus/zoom. Wonder if my camera has moved a bit with wind/etc as it used to be perfect, though trying to capture two lanes is never easy.

Huge thanks for sticking with me through out all my faux pas!

1663592291213.png
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
955
Reaction score
147
The plate needs have about 100 pixels for the OCR to work, can you zoom in some. Can you attached a cropped image from the ALPR folder

View attachment 140428
Thanks, unfortunately if I zoom in more I lose one of the two sides which is the issue (and then would have to try and capture plates from further back which presumably defeats the pupose?

E.g., below is the full view. I would capture the van a bit earlier in the shot and then the jeep a bit later in the shot in how I've set up the zones.

1663596555966.png


Is the 100 pixel thing a limit within Deepstack? I.e., when I was using OpenALPR ages ago it was able to capture the plates, but I guess using an different API?
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
955
Reaction score
147
Not sure what setting I changed, but seem to be getting fewer confirmed plates, and also even when I get a confirmed plate it is not giving me the usual vehicle flag in the timeline?

Maybe something different between different schedules.

1663781194245.png

1663781207727.png
 

actran

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
428
Reaction score
240
Has anyone come across digital license plates?


I wonder if there will be new challenges getting OCR to work against one of these plates at night.
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
2,898
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Forgive the complete noobiness here... but is DeepStack something I need to install apart from DeepStackALPR? When I run through the config and click the Start Now button in the AI tab of Settings, I just get an error that says 'Could not start (258), check path (C:\DeepStack).
DeepStackALPR does need DeepStack installed for it to work.

I created a ALPR module for CodeProject.AI and should be in the upcoming release, so I would recommended waiting for the release which should be any day now.
1670975172864.png
 

nhs128

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
71
Reaction score
15
DeepStackALPR does need DeepStack installed for it to work.

I created a ALPR module for CodeProject.AI and should be in the upcoming release, so I would recommended waiting for the release which should be any day now.
View attachment 148127
Sounds good. I will wait on that release. It looks great, thank you!
 

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
DeepStackALPR does need DeepStack installed for it to work.

I created a ALPR module for CodeProject.AI and should be in the upcoming release, so I would recommended waiting for the release which should be any day now.
Hi, is there a release we can take a look at? Really excited to see if I can get this to work.
 

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
The release should be sometime this month
Thanks... just been following the instructions and think am close to getting it working, but having a problem with the paths.

Error is :

FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'D:\\NEW\\LPR\\ALPR.20230103_184643622.jpg\\ALPR.20230103_183149.550.17-0.txt'

Not sure I have the paths setup correctly... Any idea why it's forming the path like that?

Thanks
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
2,898
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks... just been following the instructions and think am close to getting it working, but having a problem with the paths.

Error is :

FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'D:\\NEW\\LPR\\ALPR.20230103_184643622.jpg\\ALPR.20230103_183149.550.17-0.txt'

Not sure I have the paths setup correctly... Any idea why it's forming the path like that?

Thanks
It might be a setting in DS_ALPR_config.ini file, can you post your settings
 

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
It might be a setting in DS_ALPR_config.ini file, can you post your settings
Thanks.. I have just figured it out, it was the path having a * in it. I have it all working better now, apart from the accuracy seems a bit low. I have attached an example but this is what is in the log file:

01/04/2023 11:21:22 Plate: YHSRND 73% CropTime: 31.2 ms OCRTime: 0.0 ms AlertTime: 15.6 ms TotalTime: 46.9 ms File:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
I was changing settings and it stopped working again... I have got it to work by using the following alerts... but I think I should only be using one of them, right? I also seem to be getting lots of instances where the ALPR image doesn't update and the OCR happens on the previous vehicle.


LPR Cam
lpr.jpg


ALPR Cam (cropped)
alpr.jpg
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
2,898
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I was changing settings and it stopped working again... I have got it to work by using the following alerts... but I think I should only be using one of them, right? I also seem to be getting lots of instances where the ALPR image doesn't update and the OCR happens on the previous vehicle.


LPR Cam
View attachment 149928


ALPR Cam (cropped)
View attachment 149929
I have not been using DeepStackALPR while I was making a new ALPR for CodeProject.AI. Yesterday I enabled it to check the issues you are having and found that I also had some issues, Blue Iris must have made some changes that are causing the issues.
I recommend that you wait till the next release of CodeProject.AI which should be released sometime this month.
 

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
I have not been using DeepStackALPR while I was making a new ALPR for CodeProject.AI. Yesterday I enabled it to check the issues you are having and found that I also had some issues, Blue Iris must have made some changes that are causing the issues.
I recommend that you wait till the next release of CodeProject.AI which should be released sometime this month.
Thanks for the feedback, happy to wait. It seems like some of the inaccuracy is due to it not being trained with UK plates. Do you have any instructions on how to re-train it once I have a large collection of plates?

Thanks again
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
2,898
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks for the feedback, happy to wait. It seems like some of the inaccuracy is due to it not being trained with UK plates. Do you have any instructions on how to re-train it once I have a large collection of plates?

Thanks again
The new CodeProject.AI ALPR has a better OCR so no re-training of the model will be needed.

If you still what to learn how to train a DeepStack model see the below link.
DeepStack Model Training

DeepStack is using an older version of YOLOv5, below is how to train a model using the current version of YOLOv5.
YOLOv5 Model Training

1672846257183.png
 

sp3ctre

n3wb
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Location
UK
Hi again, just looking at Codeproject.ai and it looks great (I should have looked closer before jumping into Deepstack). With plate reading it should work well to replace what I use now. Quick question though, does it have to rely on BI grabbing static images or can you set it up to analyse the live stream and grab plates that way?
 
Top