Blue Iris Update Helper (BiUpdateHelper)

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, Apr 16, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    Anyone who was running BiUpdateHelper version 1.5.1 with the "Help Blue Iris close itself as necessary" feature enabled (it is enabled by default) should update to 1.5.2, as I've fixed the bug that caused updates to sometimes fail because Blue Iris got forcefully closed too early. The bug had been introduced in version 1.5.1, so anyone with an older version would be unaffected.
     
    twiztidicp420 likes this.
  2. PatPend

    PatPend Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    24
    There's no install zipfile for 1.5.2 on the Releases page, only source. For a new install is 1.5.0.1 recommended?
     
  3. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    My apologies. The 1.5.2 zip is properly uploaded now!!

    I don't recommend 1.5.0.1 if you have "Help Blue Iris close itself as necessary" enabled. To be fair, most people don't need that option and could turn it off without issue.
     
  4. PatPend

    PatPend Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thank you sir.
     
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    Hey, everyone. Last weekend I got started building a system to collect Blue Iris performance data in an automated manner. It is my goal that people will be able to use this data to back-up their claims of "this system will/won't run those cameras". I decided to make it a part of Blue Iris Update Helper because that is already a little background service that works with Blue Iris registry data and CPU usage. So, starting with version 1.6, BiUpdateHelper will collect anonymous usage data once per week and upload it to this website where it is freely viewable by everyone.

    If you have any suggestions for improvement, please let me know!

    The latest version is available on github.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    Another idea I had is that BiUpdateHelper could have a button to scan your configuration and make suggestions on how to improve performance. It could notice things like Direct-to-disc or hardware acceleration being turned off, frame rates above 15 FPS, live preview frame rate uncapped, etc. It could also check basic things like "is webcasting enabled for the All cameras group?"

    I'm just not sure that is worth implementing because the people who would need it most wouldn't be running 3rd-party tools like this in the first place.
     
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    5,900
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    @bp2008
    Hey Brian, the link to github is wrong. Missing parts. ;)

    Thanks for this! Awesome stuff!
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
    bp2008 likes this.
  8. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    Ack, thanks.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  9. mycoma

    mycoma BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    45
    Would it be useful to collect and display the version of BI that people are using or did I miss it some where ??
     
  10. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    It is displayed in the detailed info if you click on a row of the main table.
     
    mycoma likes this.
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,988
    Likes Received:
    9,933
  12. Tinbum

    Tinbum Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    For the last few BI updates I've been having update problems. The updates are being downloaded and then run but when BI starts up again it still says there is an update and the file number has not gone up. A few days ago I turned of BI update helper and today the update went ok. Has anyone else had a problem and are you able to help and are there any log files that would help. I'm running the latest versions.
     
  13. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    In the BiUpdateHelper options turn off the one where it helps Blue Iris close itself. There were recent BI changes that are supposed to have made that unnecessary and it is possible that it is interfering now with normal updates.
     
  14. Tinbum

    Tinbum Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, will try that and wait for the next BI update to see. (or I could roll back and try).
     
  15. Tinbum

    Tinbum Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Yes that seems to have worked, Thank you.
     
  16. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    I suppose I should build an update that removes that feature then. Too bad there is no automatic update or notification system in place, because nobody is going to know about this.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  17. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    looney2ns likes this.
  18. Jaceon

    Jaceon Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was using the helper tool to compare my system as I'm looking to upgrade, and it took me a second to figure out the MP/s goes off the "max frame rate" setting. For awhile I thought maybe my system went crazy since cameras were showing as high as 39fps when only set to 8fps lol not sure how BI can be so far off?... Anyways.. I guess that makes the MP/s kind of deceiving to compare on the Blue iris update helper performance sheet, since my MP/s was showing about double of what it actually was. I went and readjusted my max frame rates via BI4 anyways but I don't think it actually matters...
     
  19. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    The only way to actually adjust frame rate is in the camera web interface, GUI. BI just accepts what is sent from the camera so changing it there doesn't really do anything.
     
  20. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,872
    Likes Received:
    5,989
    It can be. It does try to load "actual" frame rates via a request to BI's web server, but there are several conditions under which this may fail and the fallback is to read the max frame rate setting out of the registry.

    It does affect memory usage pretty substantially. It used to also affect bit rate calculations when BI encoded H.264 streams for UI3 or mobile apps, but Ken fixed that several months ago.
     
    Jaceon likes this.