Brand newbie

jsholtz

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all! I'm brand new to all things security cameras. I've got a little tech background building my own computers and such. I'm building a house (about to start framing) and want to go ahead and wire things up right for putting a camera system in. Concurrently, I'm building a media server to run Plex and house all my pictures/videos/movies. Just looking to pick up some knowledge, insight, and advice from people who have been there and done that!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Get some quality cat5e or cat6 cable for the cameras. Make sure it is rated for in-wall installation, and uses solid copper conductors, not CCA (copper-clad aluminum).

You won't need better than cat5e for cameras, but if you are building the house then this is your opportunity to cheaply run network cables anywhere it could conceivably be wanted in the future. You should do it for more than just cameras. If it was me I would want at least cat6, maybe cat6a for future 10 gigabit support, running from the network closet to most rooms of the house, and also any locations that would be good for wifi access points (the middle of a large ceiling for example). If any of the cable paths will have to be near much electrical wiring, use shielded cable or better yet run fiber optics instead. Fiber optics don't carry electrical current, and therefore AC power wiring can't induce a current in it like it would with unshielded twisted pair. You can always use more than one PoE switch in a camera network, so you don't necessarily need to run copper ethernet cable from all the cameras back to the same location.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score