Cam trigger sends text message, but does not run a script

Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Hi Everyone,

I';m having problems getting any of my camera triggers to initiate a script. Here's my basic setup:

I've got 3 cameras on Blue Iris. Each camera is set in Alerts>Actions to "Send an SMS text message" & Run a program or execute a script". The texts are setup to my phone and they all work when I click "Test" from each camera's "Configure SMS Alert" page. The scripts are just batch files that send ssh commands to another PC on the network and triggers an audible alarm. I've tested each script independently of Blue Iris and the all work. I've selected the appropriate script in each camera's "configure Run Alert" page, and when I click test, the alarm sounds on the remote PC.

The problem is that when a camera is actually tripped, on;y the text message gets sent, the script doesn't run, so the PC alarm never sounds. Even when I go to the camera's "Motion/Trigger" page and click "trigger now" the text gets sent, but the script does not run.

I'm wondering if there is some other settings that may be preventing the scripts from being run?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
Hi Everyone,

I';m having problems getting any of my camera triggers to initiate a script. Here's my basic setup:

I've got 3 cameras on Blue Iris. Each camera is set in Alerts>Actions to "Send an SMS text message" & Run a program or execute a script". The texts are setup to my phone and they all work when I click "Test" from each camera's "Configure SMS Alert" page. The scripts are just batch files that send ssh commands to another PC on the network and triggers an audible alarm. I've tested each script independently of Blue Iris and the all work. I've selected the appropriate script in each camera's "configure Run Alert" page, and when I click test, the alarm sounds on the remote PC.

The problem is that when a camera is actually tripped, on;y the text message gets sent, the script doesn't run, so the PC alarm never sounds. Even when I go to the camera's "Motion/Trigger" page and click "trigger now" the text gets sent, but the script does not run.

I'm wondering if there is some other settings that may be preventing the scripts from being run?
Welcome to the forum. I ran a test and was getting similar issues with respect to alerts...i was on 4.0.9.2...I updated to .8 and it works as it should..it may simply have been the result of a restart of blue iris. What version of blue iris are you running? Try restarting the program.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Welcome to the forum. I ran a test and was getting similar issues with respect to alerts...i was on 4.0.9.2...I updated to .8 and it works as it should..it may simply have been the result of a restart of blue iris. What version of blue iris are you running? Try restarting the program.
I'm actually on 4.0.9.8 x64.

I just reset the whole server and once it came back online I tripped one of the cameras by walking in front of it. Got a text, but still no alarm on the remote PC.

Puzzled....
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
I'm actually on 4.0.9.8 x64.

I just reset the whole server and once it came back online I tripped one of the cameras by walking in front of it. Got a text, but still no alarm on the remote PC.

Puzzled....
instead if triggering a script...it to open a random jpeg or music file and see if that works...that will help narrow down the issue
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
In the "Configure Run Alert" window, I set the file to a random picture on the server and clicked "Test". The picture opens straight away.

Back on the Motion/Trigger tab, I clicked "Trigger now" and got the same behaviour as before. The text gets sent, but the picture doesn't open.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
In the "Configure Run Alert" window, I set the file to a random picture on the server and clicked "Test". The picture opens straight away.

Back on the Motion/Trigger tab, I clicked "Trigger now" and got the same behaviour as before. The text gets sent, but the picture doesn't open.
Are you still getting only the push notification or none of the alerts...its weird because now mine is not sending any...
Also make sure that your traffic signal is either green or disable alerts is not checked in the traffic signal settings, blue iris options >other
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Are you still getting only the push notification or none of the alerts...its weird because now mine is not sending any...
Also make sure that your traffic signal is either green or disable alerts is not checked in the traffic signal settings, blue iris options >other
I get the SMS alerts, but it still wont run the script.

My traffic light is green, even so, I unchecked 'disable alerts' in the traffic signal settings. Tested again with the same result.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
The only other thing i can think of the the wait between alerts setting...I would email support..
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
Thanks man. Will do and I'll post what I find out back here.

Cheers!
Hey, not sure if you received a response from support yet...I have been tinkering with this..I think I figured out what the bug is
When using the trigger now button in the motion tab (need to test with actual motion as well, but I presume it will be the same)..regardless of what profile is selected it will only trigger an alert that is also set as a watchdog alert...so for example, play audio..it will not sound using trigger now regardless of profile, unless its also set as a watchdog alert notification.
I have emailed support with the above info...
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Hey, not sure if you received a response from support yet...I have been tinkering with this..I think I figured out what the bug is
When using the trigger now button in the motion tab (need to test with actual motion as well, but I presume it will be the same)..regardless of what profile is selected it will only trigger an alert that is also set as a watchdog alert...so for example, play audio..it will not sound using trigger now regardless of profile, unless its also set as a watchdog alert notification.
I have emailed support with the above info...

On my watchdog tab, my camera is set to detect loss of signal. Is that the setting you mean, or is there another way to classify a motion trigger as a watchdog alert?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
On my watchdog tab, my camera is set to detect loss of signal. Is that the setting you mean, or is there another way to classify a motion trigger as a watchdog alert?
What I mean is in the alert tab of the camera properties, in the profile dropdown box, select watchdog and enable the box to execute your script...you will see that it will now work when you select "trigger now"
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
What I mean is in the alert tab of the camera properties, in the profile dropdown box, select watchdog and enable the box to execute your script...you will see that it will now work when you select "trigger now"

Okay, I see what you're saying. I switched over to the watchdog profile, enabled running the script, selected the script from the 'configure run alert' screen, clicked test (The script runs!). Then I triggered the camera and I get the SMS, but the script still does not run for me.

I also waited past my re-trigger timer and retested with the same result.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
Okay, I see what you're saying. I switched over to the watchdog profile, enabled running the script, selected the script from the 'configure run alert' screen, clicked test (The script runs!). Then I triggered the camera and I get the SMS, but the script still does not run for me.

I also waited past my re-trigger timer and retested with the same result.
hmmm..basically what I found was that the trigger now only triggers the watchdog alert profile..so for example, i setup a different sound for the "sound alert from pc speaker" for watchdog and profile 1 and regardless of what profile is selected in the motion tab, the audio alert set for the watchdog profile is the one that sounds...
try this, select the script to trigger then hit copy and paste to all and save...then try trigger now.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
hmmm..basically what I found was that the trigger now only triggers the watchdog alert profile..so for example, i setup a different sound for the "sound alert from pc speaker" for watchdog and profile 1 and regardless of what profile is selected in the motion tab, the audio alert set for the watchdog profile is the one that sounds...
try this, select the script to trigger then hit copy and paste to all and save...then try trigger now.
That's strange because I don't see that behavior at all on my end. When I setup the alert in the watchdog alert profile to only run my script, but not to send a SMS, then my profile 1 is set to send and SMS and run the script, when I trigger the camera with profile 1 selected, I still only get the SMS (which is not set under the watchdog) but no script.

When I copy paste the watchdog settings to all (which is only setup for the script, no SMS), I trigger the cam and no SMS & no script runs...

Also, I just noticed an update is available, so I upgraded to 4.0.9.9 and the behavior is still the same.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,448
Reaction score
12,453
That's strange because I don't see that behavior at all on my end. When I setup the alert in the watchdog alert profile to only run my script, but not to send a SMS, then my profile 1 is set to send and SMS and run the script, when I trigger the camera with profile 1 selected, I still only get the SMS (which is not set under the watchdog) but no script.

When I copy paste the watchdog settings to all (which is only setup for the script, no SMS), I trigger the cam and no SMS & no script runs...

Also, I just noticed an update is available, so I upgraded to 4.0.9.9 and the behavior is still the same.
Very strange...I have no clue..I have also been using 4.0.9.9 for this test...lets see what he says...
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Very strange...I have no clue..I have also been using 4.0.9.9 for this test...lets see what he says...
Ken helped me to get to the bottom of the problem, which incidentally was not a BlueIris issue, but just me not understanding a key point about running services on Windows Home Server 2011.

So, the bat that I was trying to run calls an exe (Plink) that the service did not have access to. The solution is to run the service from an account that does have access to the .exe. In Windows Server Manager, you would select the BlueIris service and change it to run from LocalService to whatever account you want.

Now I can send all kinds of SSH commands on motion trigger! This is so awesome!
 

mironrw

n3wb
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Hello everybody,

I have the same problem that a script is not executed. Emails and push messages are sent.
The BI service is run as an administrator.
If the "Test" button is pressed, the script will work.

Does somebody has any idea?

Best wishes
Michael
 
Top