Camera Feed Dropping Out

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by gfaulk09, Jul 19, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. gfaulk09

    gfaulk09 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Hello, trying to solve this problem. Having a problem with these camera feeds dropping out. I have currently 14 cameras and going to expand it to 20-24. Its not the wiring. I used the software that came with the cameras for 2-3 weeks and never experienced any dropouts etc. I believe its the ONVIF protocol. The problem is that my cameras don't show up as a choice to choose from. I just believe its the stream. The thing is, its not all the cameras that I have that drops. 4 out of 14 drop out and some more so than others..
    here is the cameras that i am using. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07N3Y4HS6/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Camera settings attached
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,988
    Likes Received:
    9,932
    Try using one of the hikvision options.
    It could very well be the wiring despite it working with the other software as the onvif/rtsp stream or blue iris could be more sensitive to lost packets. Test with a short premade cable
     
  3. gfaulk09

    gfaulk09 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    none of the Hikvision options works.. I'll try a continues ping to that camera thru command line and see if it ever loses connections.
     
  4. gfaulk09

    gfaulk09 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    So after your thoughts.. the cameras are definitely dropping out... I’ll inspect the cable. It’s actually the main cable to a switch. And it’s all 4 cameras on that switch now that I think about it
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,988
    Likes Received:
    9,932
    If you made the cable yourself, did you use the 568B standard?
     
  6. gfaulk09

    gfaulk09 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    I did
     
  7. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    Location:
    Alabama
    Maybe the switch, eh? o_O