Camera Placement Advice

Reaction score
Another appeal for camera placement advice. :)

I am a noob but have 8 Dahua HDW5231R-ZE that I'd like to mount in the best places.

Do you have better placement ideas or advice?

Here's a crude MS Paint drawing of my best plan:

Camera Placement4.png

beepsilver

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Check out the tool on this page: IPVM Camera Calculator V3
First put in the address, then zoom in and start adding cameras. Free usage allows 4 cameras if I remember correctly...but you'll get what you need by moving them around.
With those cameras, you're biggest concern will be mounting so that IR does not bounce off walls and/or eaves. Simply rotate away from walls and point down for eaves to avoid IR reflection back into the lens. You may find you need to add a junction box to drop the cam further from an eave or extend the cam away from a wall. Also may help to use the camera in corridor mode if it suits your situation. Good luck!

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Where is the front door ?
Where is the garage ?

The purpose of a security camera is to see what happened and who did it. It is recommended that cameras be mounted no higher than 8 ft to attempt to get a clear view of the face. Before permanently mounting camera, use a test mount to verify the camera mount location. My test rig: rev.2

In the front of my house I have two cameras covering the front door, so I can see 100 % for the stoop for package delivery. I also try to have each camera in another cameras view. So if someone tries the disable the camera I have video of the action (this is not likely to happen in my neighborhood ). I have two cameras on the garage one on each side. I do not park in the driveway, but guests do. I have little to no street or sidewalk coverage.

beepsilver

Getting comfortable
Reaction score