Camera placement & set up - any answers at all appreciated!

jeremylatz

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I started by looking at some Hikvision cameras and was about to bite the proverbial, but am now considering Dahua due to the recommendations here. I'm quite new to everything technical but am trying hard to work it all out so thanks for the help.

Wondering if you can please give feedback on my plan:

4 cameras

1. Facing out the front side of the house - I need to see out to 30-35 feet (where the street hits). I want to see cars and faces. Also want to detect when someone crosses a line into property. But also see close - less than 5 feet (same: faces, activity) - what angle lens would work?

2. Front door - I can't decide where to place the camera. I want it out of reach of theft/breaking but if it's too high (say 7 feet), the person just has to duck their head down and I would miss their face. If it's too low, can't they just break it? I presume this is 2.8mm

3. Front side of the house Cam 1 cannot reach. I can do a wider angle and try to capture the front door and the other side. I'm thinking 6mm

4. Backyard. Can the camera capture this whole area? 35 feet by 35 feet. Again I am looking for motion detection, face detection. Would it be 6mm here or more?

Questions on setup

1. Is it OK if I get cat5 cables and run the wiring along the eaves of the property as opposed to inside? This would make it a bit easier for me as I'm dreading the installation of the cables.

2. Is it better to get an NVR or POE switch? And how do I then store to NAS? If I get BlueIris does this forfeit the need for an NVR? I'm having a bit of trouble understanding how these all fit together

3. Also with the NVR is there a preferred location for it? I was told I have to plug camera cables into NVR or POE switch and THEN connect it to my network router - is this correct? If so, should I just put the NVR into the same room as the network router? Saves cabling??