cannot connect HIKVision PTZ camera to HIKVision NVR

JulesFW

n3wb
Reaction score
I am a newbie who after 3 days has learned much but am stuck on a few issues, compliments in part on the Chinglish manuals.
I purchased from one store a DS-7808N-E2/8P (all my equipment is POE enabled HIKVision product from AliExpress) firmware V3.3.2build 150522 encoding v5.0 build 150507 plugin V3.0.5.40 with three domes (3MP DS-2CD2132F-IS) and two bullets (DS-2CD2032-I). From a second store I purchased a PTZ, model CMR-HD200-20-K, firmware V5.2.0 build 150106, encoding V5.0 build 140820. I do not have a monitor for the NVR (they were all stolen along with everything else:(, hence my new "hobby"), but I access the system with my laptop using the native HIKVision software/interface.

I managed eventually (NVR did not come with a manual) to hook everything from store 1 together. The ip address of the NVR is 192.168.0.100 (router is 192.168.0.1), and the addresses of the cams are all 192.168.254.xxx. As an aside I gather from this that the cameras form a LAN separate from but attached to the LAN served by my router. Anyway, they were setup using DHCP with plug and play. That is as far as I've gotten thus far.

I have managed to access the PTZ through my computer (by plugging in the power to the camera as my router does not have POE), but I cannot manage to add it to the NVR. I have tried enabling DHCP, I have tried manually setting the IP address to 192.168.254.xxx (using the address that the NVR seemed to be looking for, with a gateway of 192.168.254.1 which I presume to be correct under the logic that it acts much like my router), and a few other options. The lights where I plug the RJ45 into the back do not even flash, but surely there is no issue with the cable given my success using the router.

My questions:
1) can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong or better yet what I should be doing to connect the PTZ to the NVR?