Cannot get NVR to recognize camera's!

Plug&Play

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have a NVR Hikvision 7608NI-SE2/8P with Firmware 3.3.6 and Hikvision IP camera DS-2CD2335-I with firmware 5.3.5. The cameras are from China but have the English menus.

Initially when I purchased these the seller commented that there would be a conflict between the NVR firmware and the IP camera firmware and to allow plug & play to set the camera password to the same as the NVR. Needless to say that is still not solving the problem of the camera's not being plug and play.

I have downloaded both SADP and IVMS4200 and neither of these are able to find the cameras on the network (plugged into the NVR or directly to my router)

I have double checked the cat5 terminations and the cameras do have power to them. The default camera IP does not take me to the camera interface, it simply refuses to load the browser.

Admittedly I am a total newb when it comes to networking, but I am at a loss as to why I cannot get the plug & play feature on this NVR to work. I even pulled a brand new camera out of the box connected it to the NVR and it still refused to find the camera via plug and play! The whole idea was to buy the matching Hikvision equipment to allow for easy plug and play operation.

It seems to me I could be facing two issues here, the first is the firmware conflict with the NVR and camera, and the next would be a networking issue.

Obviously, I need some help here, so please treat me with kid gloves as I try to figure this out with your help.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I have downloaded both SADP and IVMS4200 and neither of these are able to find the cameras on the network (plugged into the NVR or directly to my router)
Sometimes in troubleshooting a problem it's good go get back to basics.
If SADP (V3.x if you downloaded it?) can't see a camera on the LAN, then you don't need to worry about the NVR for now.