Chromecast working...!

Discussion in 'Android' started by Martin Paul Sr, Oct 31, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Jose
    It should look something like this:

    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: stunnel 5.49 on x86-pc-msvc-1500 platform
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: Compiled/running with OpenSSL 1.0.2p-fips 14 Aug 2018
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: Threading:WIN32 Sockets:SELECT,IPv6 TLS:ENGINE,FIPS,OCSP,PSK,SNI
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: Reading configuration from file stunnel.conf
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: UTF-8 byte order mark detected
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: FIPS mode disabled
    2018.11.19 11:53:05 LOG5[main]: Configuration successful
     
  2. brettcp

    brettcp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: stunnel 5.50 on x64-pc-mingw32-gnu platform
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: Compiled/running with OpenSSL 1.1.1 11 Sep 2018
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: Threading:WIN32 Sockets:SELECT,IPv6 TLS:ENGINE,OCSP,PSK,SNI
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: Reading configuration from file stunnel.conf
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: UTF-8 byte order mark detected
    2018.11.19 12:12:01 LOG5[main]: Configuration successful
     
  3. mtpleasantben

    mtpleasantben Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Washington, DC, United States
    Turn FIPS off, it's commented out by default like this

    ; Enable FIPS 140-2 mode if needed for compliance
    ;fips = yes
     
  4. brettcp

    brettcp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    I don't have FIPS started, its disabled by default in my install
     
  5. mtpleasantben

    mtpleasantben Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Washington, DC, United States
    Sorry, was just comparing output and saw "LOG5[main]: FIPS mode disabled" was missing. I just re-read your first message.

    Looks like the issue maybe with local DNS. I.E. if you will most likely need to make a DNS record so that internally on the LAN https://www.yourdomain.com is the same as https://www.yourdomain.com on your WAN even though they are different IP addresses.

    To test from the outside does the SSL Cert give any errors? you can always view the cert to see what failed in the browser.
     
  6. brettcp

    brettcp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks - I got it working so that no warnings are presented from my browser, but what format are you streaming from Blue Iris to Chromecast? I've tried .TS, .h264, and .m3u8 but just get the blue cast logo with no video stream.
     
  7. mtpleasantben

    mtpleasantben Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Washington, DC, United States
    Are you running the blueiris app on your ios or android? we are casting direct from the app; so there is no file types here.
     
  8. brettcp

    brettcp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    I'm actually running something called Homeseer which has a Chromecast plugin where I can specify a stream URL to cast to a Chromecast device.. I thought that Chromecast requires HTTPS streams so I thought stunnel was my missing piece here, but I still cant' seem to get a stream working to Chromecast (even though I can get the stream working via VLC player, web browser, etc).
     
  9. mtpleasantben

    mtpleasantben Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Washington, DC, United States
    Yeah I don't know about homseer casting a stream url. That's a it quite different than what we are discussing on here, using blueiris app to cast natively. You might want to look at how the tiny camera app works with blueiris, and try that with homeseer as that should be a stream.
     
  10. brettcp

    brettcp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks for your input!
     
  11. mtpleasantben

    mtpleasantben Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Washington, DC, United States
    I'm actually going to give up on the Casting. Just received my Nvidia Shield 4k (they sell for $140 now). Sideloaded Chrome, and UI3 works perfectly!
     
  12. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Jose
    Dude, I got lucky.
    I was visiting my daughter and told her I was in the market for an all-in-one to replace my weak-ass i3 laptop in the kitchen phone nook where I keep the computer.
    I can't stand my current laptop's flat keyboard and low-res screen, and an all-in-one would have a big screen and fit perfectly in my spot.
    She said "Hey, there's my old HP all-in-one at Mom's house that on one uses or wants."
    So I went to my ex's and picked it up and when I got home and checked it out, realized it's a third gen i7 with 8GB RAM and a 2TB hard drive and 1080p 21" screen.
    I spent about $100 at Best Buy on an awesome chunky Logitech K840 keyboard and Trackman Marble Mouse, and completely replaced my old laptop.
    I wiped it to factory state and just installed my few favorite apps that I use at home.
    I'm also happy to report Blue Iris, Stunnel HTTPS access and Chromecast from Android are working better than ever on the new PC.
    It's Windows 7, which I also happen to like better, though I know I'll need to upgrade to Windows 10 in about a year when MS stops supporting Win 7.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
  13. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Jose
    I updated my original post with a couple more tips about Chromecasting.
     
  14. dtm1017

    dtm1017 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I am in the situation where I can connect using my public dns address via the app however o noticed that in the stunnel logs all traffic is showing coming from 127.0.0.1 and not the lan IP. Externally it shows the true public facing IP of the connection. I can cast to devices outside of my house, but not inside. I am thinking this may be the reason?

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
  15. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Jose
    Both my Chromecast (1st gen) devices took a firmware update this week (1.32.144770), after which casting from the Android app stopped working completely.
    I'm talking black screen on TV, not even a BI banner, and cams still showing on the app screen.
    Tried rebooting the BI server and using a different Android device, same result.
    So I went out and picked up two new 3rd gen Chromecasts (still $35 ea) to see if they would work.
    Before installing the first new one, I went to the Google Home app to disconnect the old one.
    In the settings for the device I noticed an item "Use 50Hz HDMI Mode".
    Just for one last try, I switched on that setting and casting from the BI app was now working!
    This doesn't make sense to me because Google says the setting is a rarely used advanced feature that applies to users in Asia and Europe who are experiencing video stutter during fast action like sports.
    I tried a few other cast apps like YouTube, NetFlix, TuneIn and they still work fine.
    I thought about returning the new devices but I still wanted to see if they can cast the BI app.
    They do, and the 50Hz HDMI Mode setting makes them start the cam streams faster.
    I'll just keep the new ones because they seem to start everything fast and they're cheap.
    Anyway, if you can't seem to cast from the BI Android app, try switching on the "Use 50Hz HDMI Mode"
     
  16. abraxas11

    abraxas11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's strange.
    i wonder if just changing any setting would have the same effect, but the results from the newer models seem to not indicate that.

    good to know.
     
  17. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Jose
    I can say now using the new 3rd gen Chromecasts that the BI Android app casts quickly regardless of that 50Hz Mode setting.
    I have it switched that setting off now and it works great and the cams appear much faster than before with the old 1st gen devices.
    I did notice however, when I set up the new 3rd gen devices, they spent time updating firmware.
    But the firmware version they ended up using looked way older than that shown on Google's info: Chromecast firmware versions
    It says the latest is 1.37.146679, and mine are running 1.36.xxxxxx (I'm not at home LAN now so can't look up the exact version).
    I hope that it doesn't go blank again like with the 1st gen devices when I eventually get the most updated firmware.
    Google does not give you any choices about firmware versions / updates. You gotta take what they give you.