Cisco 3750-48PS w/ IP Cams

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Lkn4aSystem, Jun 2, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Lkn4aSystem

    Lkn4aSystem n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Hello

    I recently purchased a server rack that came with a CAT6 patch panel along with a Cisco Router and a Cisco-48 PS switch. On the face it states it is a POE switch and research shows it is. Now my question is can I run this switch with 4k POE cameras? Will this switch give me adequate power to power a camera per port. I was mainly interested in only the 15U rack but the seller was kind enough to throw in the switch. I know nothing about networking, but i am not afraid to learn and waiting for the console cable to reset the switch. Any help will be appreciated. I only plan to use 7 ports out of the 48 and will possiblly use the other ports at a later time maybe create a home network setup.

    SPECS
    GENERAL

    • Enclosure Type
      Rack-mountable 1U
    • Subtype
      Fast Ethernet
    • Ports
      48 x 10/100 (PoE) + 4 x SFP
    • Power Over Ethernet (PoE)
      PoE
    • Authentication Method
      Kerberos, RADIUS, Secure Shell (SSH), TACACS+
    • MAC Address Table Size
      12K entries
    • Authentication Method
      Kerberos, Secure Shell (SSH), RADIUS, TACACS+
    • Power Over Ethernet (PoE)
      PoE
    • Status Indicators
      Port transmission speed, port duplex mode, system, link/activity
    • Routing Protocol
      OSPF, IGRP, BGP-4, RIP-1, RIP-2, HSRP, IGMP, DVMRP, PIM-SM, static IP routing, PIM-DM, IPX-EIGRP
    • Manufacturer
      Cisco
    NETWORKING
    • Cabling Type
      Ethernet 100Base-TX, Ethernet 10Base-T
    • MAC Address Table Size
      12K entries
    • Subcategory
      network hubs and switches
    • Subtype
      Fast Ethernet
    • Form Factor
      rack-mountable
    • Type
      Switch
    • Stackable
      stackable
    • Connectivity Technology
      wired
    • Features
      ARP support, DHCP support, IP-routing, IPv6 support, Syslog support, VLAN support, manageable, stackable
    • Compliant Standards
      IEEE 802.1D, IEEE 802.1Q, IEEE 802.1p, IEEE 802.1s, IEEE 802.1w, IEEE 802.1x, IEEE 802.3, IEEE 802.3ab, IEEE 802.3ad (LACP), IEEE 802.3af, IEEE 802.3u, IEEE 802.3x
    • Ports Qty
      48
    • Manageable
      Yes
    • Routing Protocol
      BGP-4, DVMRP, HSRP, IGMP, IGRP, IPX-EIGRP, OSPF, PIM-DM, PIM-SM, RIP-1, RIP-2, static IP routing
    • Switching Protocol
      Ethernet
    • Remote Management Protocol
      HTTP, RMON, SNMP 1, SNMP 2c, SNMP 3, Telnet
    • Communication Mode
      full-duplex, half-duplex
    • Power Over Ethernet (PoE)
      PoE
    POWER DEVICE
    • Nominal Voltage
      AC 120/230 V
    • Frequency Required
      50/60 Hz
    • Power Consumption Operational
      540 Watt
    • Type
      internal power supply
    CAMERA
    • Installed Size
      16 MB
    MISCELLANEOUS
    • MTBF
      166408 hour(s)
    • Height (Rack Units)
      1 m
    • Refurbished
      refurbished
    CHASSIS
    • Installed Devices / Modules Qty
      0
    • Supported Devices / Modules Qty
      4
    INTERFACE PROVIDED
    • Interface
      Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX, console
    • Qty
      1, 4, 48
    • Connector Type
      RJ-45, SFP (mini-GBIC)
    • Comments
      PoE, management
    RAM
    • Installed Size
      128 MB
    ENVIRONMENTAL PARAMETERS
    • Min Operating Temperature
      32 °F
    • Max Operating Temperature
      113 °F
    • Humidity Range Operating
      10 - 85%
    HEADER
    • Brand
      Cisco
    • Product Line
      Cisco Catalyst
    • Model
      3750-48PS
    • Packaged Quantity
      1
    • Compatibility
      PC
    DIMENSIONS & WEIGHT
    • Width
      17.5 in
    • Depth
      14.9 in
    • Height
      1.7 in
    • Weight
      13.23 lbs
    SOFTWARE
    • Type
      Enhanced Multilayer Software Image (EMI)
    PORTS
    • Type
      10/100 (PoE)
    • Qty
      48
    PORTS (2ND)
    • Type
      SFP (mini-GBIC)
    • Qty
      4
    SLOT REQUIRED
    • Type
      none
    GENERAL
    • Manufacturer
      Cisco
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  2. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    705
    Location:
    NY
    Should power your stuff no issues, configuring it might be a issue if you have no background in the Cisco Ios but I would plug it in and see what happens, If they wiped it out and defaulted it you might have to do some messing around with it. Those switches were work horses in their day. If your ports are active on it should be no issue.
     
  3. Lkn4aSystem

    Lkn4aSystem n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you! Yes I was able to plug it in and all the lights did light up. I believe there was a mode switch that if pressed was almost like a test procedure. Thank you for your input. The switch looks to be from 2008 and was a little worried powering up newer IP cameras. BTW i did buy the rack to get my feet wet and have a Dell 6700 Optiflex on the way for blue iris
     
  4. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    705
    Location:
    NY
    The Switch does not care about 4k or roughly 8 Mega Pixels cams. Its got a pretty decent power budget for your standard cam but do not expect to run higher power PTZ' cams with it.
     
  5. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    11,258
    Likes Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Scotland
    if you've not already done this - it would be worth pressing the reset button for long enough to set it back to defaults, for the case that there is still an existing configuration from the previous use of the device.
    There could be all sorts of things to puzzle over and get in your way, such as VLANs, layer 3 configs, admin passwords etc.
    Best to start from a known position.

    Without looking at the specs - that's probably just changing the mode of the port LEDs to show a different set of status indications.
     
  6. Lkn4aSystem

    Lkn4aSystem n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I believe I posted the specs, but if you leave the unit on it runs a self diagnostics check and all Lan ports and mode lights did light up amber/green
     
  7. brutonuk

    brutonuk n3wb

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    uk
    Depends how many devices long term - I see you are only using a few to start with. My experience is cisco can only power around 75% of the ports and you will need 2 power supplies in the switch to use all ports. You need to look at poe or poe+. If I use an axis q6055 which is poe+ with cisco 3750 i still need to use a midspan in line as there is insufficient current to operate the PTZ.
    I use them on oil rigs and windfarms as they are secure and robust switches but always a long process to set them up fully in the first place.