Cliff Notes query?

Phil.g00

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Cliff Notes quotation below:
"They also offer NVR’s without PoE power that require a separate PoE switch to power the cameras. While more expensive, this allows greater flexibility, and makes it easier to directly access cameras."

I am a Noob, but I would've thought that a POE-capable NVR would be able to supply some cameras with POE and still use other cameras supplied by an alternative POE source.
I infer from Cliff Notes that I am mistaken.
Please can someone enlighten me as to the error of my ways?

jarrow

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
You are right. You can use both, as long as you don't exceed the amount of cams the NVR is made for.
So for a 8 channel NVR with POE, you could for instance feed 6 from the ports on the back and 2 from an external source (switch/injector), but the total can't exceed 8.

Phil.g00

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Thank you for your reply.
Another question, if I may.
Do I have to use an NVR port per camera?
If I had a multi-channel POE capable switch that fed eight cameras, could I use only one ethernet capable between the switch and a single NVR port?
Would I still use all eight channels on the NVR?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Yes, only one camera per POE Port on the NVR.

If you use an external POE switch, then you connect it to the WAN/LAN port of the NVR not a POE port. You will then have to manually add each camera to the NVR.

Contrasted with if the camera is plugged into the NVR POE port, then it usually will find it and set it up automatically.

Phil.g00

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
In my case, it will be convenient to use fibre between outbuildings with multiple cameras on them. So an NVR without POE could be an option,
However, I do not want to sacrifice internet access by using the WAN/LAN port or are they equipped with more than one? (I refer to DHI-NVR5208-4KS2E range). The specs are unclear. Or is there another network workaround?