Complete Newbie. Forgive me!

OIFVetWife

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, all,

I'm a wife and mom (with a fair bit of tech experience, but NONE with security cameras and systems).

I am in the process of setting up a wireless IP-based camera system for our home (and on a budget).

I've been researching and purchasing components a bit at a time. (And please know, I'm aware it would be easier to buy more... well... "Name brand" components but am trying to meet our household needs and stick to the budget so I'm spending a lot of time on eBay, etc).

So, we have an NVR that (according to the MFR) is "ONVIF 2.0 Compliant". I've emailed them to find out what version of ONVIF (I honestly, despite my research didn't realize how many versions there are until the last few days).

The cameras I just ordered are ONVIF 2.4.2.

I'm now completely confused (and a bit worried I've wasted time, money, etc, if they don't work) about whether or not these versions of ONVIF can talk to each other.

Here are the links with details about the different components:

NVR -

HD-NVR-PRO16: http://hdview360.com/shop/index.php?controller=attachment&id_attachment=3

CAMERAS -

SP007 (from SRICAM): http://www.sricctv.com/en/products/onvifipcamera/Onvif_IP_Camera_SP007.html

SP008 (from SRICAM): http://www.sricctv.com/en/products/onvifipcamera/Onvif_PTZ_IP_Camera_SP008.html

Again, please forgive me if these are incredibly dumb questions! And thank you for any insight or advice!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
@OIFVetWifeWelcome to the forum. The NVR appears to be a Dahua rebranded NVR which is good, though I hope you did not overpay. That model is overkill for your situation.
On the other hand, the cameras are junk. Sricam is bottom of the barrel. You should return them. Wifi is problematic and you should consider paying someone to run cable. Its not that expensive. Dont be penny wise and pound foolish.