Copy Profiles in BI5

Vini

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
28
Has anyone found a nice/easy way to copy profiles in BI5? I don't wish to sync with Profile 1. Simply having the option of which Profile to sync with would be ideal.

I've tried copying Registry data under /Motion/ from one "profile" to another, but BI seems to ignore this...

I suspect I've the wrong key or something... t'was a lot easier in BI4...
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,210
Reaction score
12,079
Has anyone found a nice/easy way to copy profiles in BI5? I don't wish to sync with Profile 1. Simply having the option of which Profile to sync with would be ideal.

I've tried copying Registry data under /Motion/ from one "profile" to another, but BI seems to ignore this...

I suspect I've the wrong key or something... t'was a lot easier in BI4...
What are you trying to accomplish? This is explained in the help file.
 

Vini

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
28
What are you trying to accomplish? This is explained in the help file.
Due to shadows at different times of the day I've broken my profiles/schedules up, from simply day/night, to morning, day, afternoon, night. Due to my OCD, I want to move my old "night" profile from Slot 2, to Slot 4. In BI4, I could simply have copied #2 and pasted into #4.

I can't see how this is done in BI5... but I'm now off to read the manual.
 

Vini

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
28
I can't see any reference to copying profile settings in the help file.

I'm assuming the feature has been dropped... there must be a hacky way.
 

polydactic

n3wb
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Location
Syracuse, NY
Bumping this, as it seems to be a major loss of functionality from BI4. You used to be able to copy all of the trigger settings from one profile — zone maps, etc — at will and paste into a different profile for the same camera. I just started experimenting with geofencing. So I have a new profile for "away from home". I really only want the behavior of one camera to change under this profile, yet now I have to recreate all of the normal "Day" (or now more accurately, Day and At Home) profile motion settings of the other cameras to work the same under the "away" profile. Is there truly no longer any way to do this? The motion sensor dialog references an "Active Zone Map" — is there, as the previous poster mentioned, a "hacky" way to copy the map from one profile to another? Any why is the "Sync with" option locked to just Profile 1?
 

Tinman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
721
Reaction score
542
Bumping this, as it seems to be a major loss of functionality from BI4. You used to be able to copy all of the trigger settings from one profile — zone maps, etc — at will and paste into a different profile for the same camera. I just started experimenting with geofencing. So I have a new profile for "away from home". I really only want the behavior of one camera to change under this profile, yet now I have to recreate all of the normal "Day" (or now more accurately, Day and At Home) profile motion settings of the other cameras to work the same under the "away" profile. Is there truly no longer any way to do this? The motion sensor dialog references an "Active Zone Map" — is there, as the previous poster mentioned, a "hacky" way to copy the map from one profile to another? Any why is the "Sync with" option locked to just Profile 1?
I agree, You best be careful with that little sync check box or you can wipe out a lot of work with one (OK) click. I can see its use but still wish the copy/paste was available.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wen

lviperz

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
95
Reaction score
14
I emailed support about this a few days ago and just received a response from Ken. What he says actually works. Here is his response.
------

If the synchronization feature is not exactly what you are looking for, it does in fact "copy" settings when it's used. Set the sync to clone from camera/profiles you want to copy, OK out, then come back in to settings and turn off the sync, you will find that the settings were copied.

Thanks

Ken
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,352
Reaction score
5,343
Location
Alabama
Missing the copy/paste feature from BI4 too.
I found this below on page 55 of Blue Iris 5 "Help" (the new term for copying from one profile to the other is "synchronization"). For now, that's all I got, as I have BI4 at the house and BI5 is at a client's house 20 miles away and he NEVER seems to be at home.....probably why he's got the cams. Anyway, hope this helps:
 

Attachments

Tinbum

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
241
Reaction score
40
Location
UK
I don't think that is actually what he is trying to accomplish in post 3.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,352
Reaction score
5,343
Location
Alabama
I don't think that is actually what he is trying to accomplish in post 3.
If you're responding to my post #10, you should note that I was replying to @pinko 's post #8, as evidenced by the grey panel with "Missing the copy/paste feature from BI4 too", located above my response. I was not replying/answering post #3.
 

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
338
Reaction score
539
Location
Australia
Thanks @TonyR. I did manage to have a good read of all of the new help file in BI5 after that post.
I think your correct in saying copy /paste has been changed to 'Syncronisation', which make sense.
 

blulegend

n3wb
Joined
Dec 3, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
4
Hi, but this seems to only work to "copy" profile 1's settings. But what if I like my profile 2 and want to paste it to profile 1?
 

anijet

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
280
Reaction score
112
Location
CA
Hi, but this seems to only work to "copy" profile 1's settings. But what if I like my profile 2 and want to paste it to profile 1?
Email support, - I have. If enough do maybe we'll get copy/paste back.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,367
Reaction score
2,229
Location
Houston Tx
Bi is a one person company. I would bet each time you send him a post it goes to the bottom of the pile.
 

Vini

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
28
Bi is a one person company. I would bet each time you send him a post it goes to the bottom of the pile.
Which is exactly why I’ve never reached out to support. Choosing to either accept it, fix it myself or do nothing.

In this instance, I simply spent the time to recreate my profiles 1 for 1. Which was a pain, but quicker than waiting weeks for a response to an email :)
 

anijet

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
280
Reaction score
112
Location
CA
Top