Dahua Starlight Varifocal Bullet Z12 5.3-64mm (IPC-HFW5231E-Z12)

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by beingaware, Jun 13, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Bradmph

    Bradmph Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Did we ever find a way to fix the Zoom issue in BI with the Dahua 7x35 that was asked earlier in thread. Clicking the PTZ zoom controls in BI, either way, causes it to go max in that direction with no in between stops. I have tried the the Find/Inspect and Max travel time/motion delay, as well as the speed setting and none of these fixes the zoom issues. I have the latest firmware and the setup find is Make:Generic Model:RTSP H.264/H.265/MJPG/MPEG4 PTZ control: Preset Pos is at 5 now and speed 5, Network IP: ONVIF (OXML).
     
  2. djborden

    djborden n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im unfamiliar with scripting but have built a few Unbuntu boxes running the GUI. I did some googling and see Python, Shell and Bash scripts come up. If its not a hassle, any chance you would be willing to give just a few more details on what it takes to execute the script you are running to keep the Dahua cams focused the way you want them? Ive not found a way to keep the focus where I want it when using it for LPR. Ive tried the Dahua sunrise sunset service and its not working properly for me.
     
  3. 0blar

    0blar Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    i successfully make a bash script (running in debian) to get sunrise/sunset and switch day/night mode.
    I also make the set zoom/focus command but not yet tested
     
  4. bigredfish

    bigredfish Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,556
    Location:
    Florida USA
    There are cameras that have apparently thought through this problem and do not change focus, at least not to the severe degree the Z-12 does.

    I am running two legacy Axis cameras that work quite well for tag capture day/night at 120ft. A 1364 and a 1365 mkII
     
  5. djborden

    djborden n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for posting this! It appears to be working great. The only issue is Im unclear if its repeating. My assumption is the 'sleep, 2000' stalls the loop for 30000 milliseconds(30 seconds?). but Im not getting an update on text file.

     
  6. achalmersman

    achalmersman Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks for this. I will attempt to fix my Z12 focus issue that happens randomly even in the middle of the day. So what string changes the frequency that this runs? And do you just compile a script and have it run as a scheduled task? Thanks, Andrew
     
  7. BPet

    BPet Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have some home automation software run this twice a day, which is the only time mine loses focus.
     
  8. Matt Scott

    Matt Scott n3wb

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have this same issue. I have ran the link to gather the focus and zoom info. My results are....

    status.Focus=0.522222
    status.FocusMotorSteps=1800
    status.Status=Normal
    status.Zoom=0.948419
    status.ZoomMotorSteps=1202

    How/where do I enter those details into your script to set it every 5 minutes for example? I also have Linux running. Thanks!
     
  9. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been having the same focusing problems with this camera. I've had it up for about 4 months now. During the day it works pretty well as a LPR but at night it goes out of focus every night. I have day and night profiles that work respectively. It works ok at night at getting license plates until it goes out of focus. I emailed Andy a while ago about locking off the focus and he said he would look into it. he never got back to me....
    This camera is basically worthless at using it as a LPR at night. Now during the day that is a different story.
     
  10. achalmersman

    achalmersman Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    52
    Yea I'm still having this issue and still haven't found a perfect work around. If I could figure out a way to make Windows Task Schedule events that schedule in relation to sunrise/ sunset I would be in better shape. Or if the focus script was written so it had 2 profiles and changed based on sunrise / sunset. Unfortunately I'm not savvy enough to modify the script that extravagantly.

    Currently I have 2 separate focus scripts being executed by 2 separate Windows Task Scheduler. The disadvantage is unless I stay on top of it (I dont this is a remote location with no internet) the sunrise / sunset changes so up to like 3 hrs of video is out of focus depending on season.

    Knowing what I know now (I have 4 of these) I would NEVER recommend these for LPR. I don't think I would recommend the Z12 at all point blank period. Mine won't even stay in focus during the day without the focus script. I have 4 and only the one that is zoomed most of the way out exhibits this problem during the day. But I still wont buy another. It should work, and be usable for its entire engineered zoom range.

    I have not contacted Andy since so many people have problem. It's a problem with the camera design and I'm not sure there is anything he can do.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
  11. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Night vs. Day Focus
    E6794D3A-CA15-421C-930F-F8D4683FB230.png E176E97C-929A-4BB0-8284-37EC3385E8BD.png
     
  12. achalmersman

    achalmersman Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    52
    You need to find the focus set / check and correct script that is on here somewhere. It will at least help

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
  13. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    having trouble finding the script
     
  14. brightnight

    brightnight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York
    Two questions about this camera, I have the IPC-HFW5231E-Z12E but I think for all purposes it's the same as the Z12.

    1) Can this camera record to a micro SD card and a NVR at the same time or do I have to pick one or the other?

    2) Do you recommend upgrading the firmware?
     
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,029
    Likes Received:
    9,978
    as with every camera it can record to sd card while simultaneously streaming to nvr.
    if you have a reason to upgrade.
     
    brightnight likes this.
  16. brightnight

    brightnight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York
    Thank you, that clears a lot up for me! Do you know if the pre-record is saved to a buffer in the camera or if it's saved to the SD card and continuously writing over itself? I'm guessing it's not the SD card and that SD cards going bad in these cameras isn't really an issue. If the camera is programmed to only record when motion is detected, is it just a video saved to the card each time motion is detected? (no hassle or programs needed to get the videos off the micro SD card, I can just swap micro SD cards out of the camera and pop it into a computer to view all of the clips).
     
  17. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    5,928
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    1-saved to buffer
    2-Only use good quality Sd cards such as the Samsung Evo Plus cards.
    3-yes
    4-Use the cams web interface to view and download off of Sd card, no card swapping required.
     
    brightnight likes this.
  18. brightnight

    brightnight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York

    Awesome thank you so much! This is moving me forward in leaps and bounds. Last two questions:
    1) When you say "good" card, what does that mean? Just class 10 of higher and not a fake? Like the SanDisk Ultras? Evo Plus aren't that much more.
    https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-128G...eway&sprefix=128gb,aps,270&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1

    2) Will I get the same quality (full HD) when downloading videos from the web interface as if I just swapped a card?
     
  19. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    5,928
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    1- by good, I mean they have a good rep here.

    2-Yep.
     
  20. Arjun

    Arjun Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a newer firmware available that fixes the focus issues? It seems apparent that some of these focus issues also crept into the newer 4mp models as well. Is anyone planning to do a comparison between this 2mp and new 4mp model?