Dahua VTO2111D-WP Information and Hacking

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
EDIT TO ADD: I made additional postings below to go over features/info/and hacks for a zwave sensor

Just got a VTO2111D-WP in and the iDMSS app can't find the device at all.

Any ideas? I am scanning the QR code.

Also the device wont automatically show up in my DHCP leases on my router.
 
Last edited:

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
Problem fixed, I had to have the device and the iDMSS phone on the same VLAN/subnet. But the auto discover still did not work, I had to manually enter the IP.

Also the Dahua web service/server requires activeX and setup is a nightmare on a mac
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
Some notes about the VTO2111D-WP in use as a doorbell cam:

Only works on local, there is no cloud service when you are not home
Video and audio work fine on iDMSS app
720p video is good for confined spaces
Wish I could set my cam as a default view for devices in the app, each time you launch the iDMSS app you need to select the cam even if you only have one Dahua camera on the network
It works in blurIris as an RTSP stream
Blueiris will capture motion and issue alerts
Audio does not work within BI at all as of now (maybe I could work with the BI programmer if I re-up my support contract?)
I am using BI motion alerts when I'm away from the home to let me know someone is there whether they depress the doorbell or not, so I can launch my VPN and look/talk
I am using an always-on iPad (wall mount for home automation) with a BT speaker connected to it for a 'chime' whenever the button is pressed

In the future I am hoping to use the provided pigtail of leads to actuate a NO/NC contact zwave sensor so i can get alerts through my HA software but having trouble getting that to work without hacking the camera or frying it too bad
 

bmwproboi05

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
15
Can you post some pics? I have a doorbird atm and i think im about to squish it
 

bmwproboi05

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
15
Not bad can you get one with someone's pic?
Is that a 110 degree view?
Where did you get yours from

Sorry about all these question. Just trying to compare to doorbird that I'm not fond of atm.
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
Not bad can you get one with someone's pic?
Is that a 110 degree view?
Where did you get yours from

Sorry about all these question. Just trying to compare to doorbird that I'm not fond of atm.
I can see if I can capture a pic when the mailman comes by, or something.

I dont know the lense specs.

I got it on ebay for $90 from China.
 

bmwproboi05

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
15
That looks pretty decent. Any nite pics? lol

I think my problem also is that doorbird faces the sun...

Side topic. Have you heard of Dahua DB10? looks interesting, and similar to the slimmer hikvision
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
That looks pretty decent. Any nite pics? lol

I think my problem also is that doorbird faces the sun...

Side topic. Have you heard of Dahua DB10? looks interesting, and similar to the slimmer hikvision
Yes the DB10 has no POE and no wired connection - IMO not a good choice for cameras.
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
Well I figured out a way to get my Dahua villa station to trigger a zwave sensor! Now when the doorbell button is pressed an open/close sensor is actuated with a diode/resistor/transistor inline combo and it trigger actions on the smarthome hub!

I can also get notified through push notifications or text when the button is pressed or senses motion, and then jump into my VPN to see the camera or open the audio line in the iDMSS app.

More details:

I'm using a PN2222 transistor with the base connected to a 220 resistor and then a diode, which is connected to a small wire that is soldered onto the top right corner of the push button on the PCB of the camera. You will need to dissasemble it from the case to do this mod.

So essentially I now have a non-cloud recording doorbell cam with two way audio and one way video. The only thing would be to integrate it into BI with the audio.
 

bmwproboi05

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
15
Yes the DB10 has no POE and no wired connection - IMO not a good choice for cameras.
I agree. Wasn't sure if there was some wired, atleast power option, Specs look decent tho.

Oh! Does your door bell make a voice when someone pushes button. i.e "Calling now"

What don't you like about the Doorbird?
Well short list.

1. Picture quality not great/ hard to see someone if your door bell faces west.
2. Does not work with all ONVIF devices ( I have a QSEE and it wont work on it. I bought a cheap dahua NVR for a friend and was able to get it to work with that device. I will eventually upgrade my NVR , but not at this time.)
3. Only one video stream can technically be on at a time.
4. Video is somewhat laggy when trying to record ( tested a lot with BI evaluation) you should expect less than 14fps
5. IR reflections out of the rear.
6.Motion sensor settings do not save after being reconnected to internet.
7.Disconnects from internet a lot. Each time it does it says, " Connected to the internet". This is a bit loud.
8.Cant just locally host video. Will always come from there server . ( nice for security reason, but lame for response.

Thats all I can think of at this time that really bother me. I will post some pics that I have taken using the API later
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12
I agree. Wasn't sure if there was some wired, atleast power option, Specs look decent tho.

Oh! Does your door bell make a voice when someone pushes button. i.e "Calling now"
It does make that voice 'calling now' and/or 'call was not answered' if you dont pick up - but they can be disabled in the options.

Mine is hardware disabled right now due to the zwave sensor I have added - the resistor I added doesnt allow the voice to be triggered which I like better.
 

bmwproboi05

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
15
@cameraman27 Thanks for the photo. Does the doorbell work with the existing bell? i.e ring it?

I've been looking into the intercom panel they have. It's tempting....
 

cameraman27

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
12

epcjay

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
214
Reaction score
23
OP, I am getting conflicting info and would like your assistance. In the specs, they it says POE 802.3af for power, but some descriptions note I have to purchase a specific DAHUA one.

What did you use?
 
Top