Dahua VTO2111D-WP Information and Hacking

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by cameraman27, Oct 10, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    I am using a Netgear JGS516PE switch which uses standard PoE spec for power - nothing is specific Dahua or to Dahua and this villa station is the only Dahua item I own on my network.
     
  2. epcjay

    epcjay Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    23
    I am having a hard time adding this unit to my NVR after a factory reboot. The image does not show, however the NVR acknowledges that the doorbell is there cause the status is green Any ideas anyone?
     
  3. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    What NVR are you using? I'm on blueiris with this

    Did it work before the reboot?
     
  4. jaycanter

    jaycanter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    32
    I just got this cam a few weeks ago and got to work with BI But my Dahua NVR it shows but black picture. not sure why
     
  5. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    set the admin login username/password to the same thing, not different. this may be @epcjay issue as well
     
  6. bobfather

    bobfather Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    26
    I just set this up for my business, and I wanted to share my thoughts. I have it running via WiFi.

    1) Image quality is fine, though limited to 720P. Some people will find this to be a negative.

    2) This camera interfaces with Blue Iris perfectly well. The following settings are used:
    Make: Dahua
    Model: Main Stream RTSP
    Ports: 554, 8999
    Video Path: /
    Camera: 1

    I tried setting up Blue Iris 2-way audio, but this feature doesn't work yet through Blue Iris. However, Blue Iris will capture audio without a problem. I hope Ken can make broadcasting audio work in the future, so we don't have to rely on Dahua's app.

    3) With the camera connected to Blue Iris, one can also use the iDMSS Lite app, no problem. The app can capture audio and broadcast audio. There's a slight delay on WiFi - maybe 1 second in receiving and sending audio.

    4) Logging into the camera web interface is somewhat limiting. For example, you only have the option to select frame rates of either 3 fps, 25 fps, and I think 30 fps. For me, the happy medium is 10 fps. The good news is, if you download the Dahua ConfigTool software you can configure the camera to have just about any frame rate you want. On Windows 10 I could only get version 3.x of the ConfigTool to work - there's also a version 4.x of the ConfigTool that installed fine, but failed to find the camera on my network. Do note that the ConfigTool does not let you set every option that the web interface does, so you'll need to use both interfaces to fully configure your camera.

    5) I think the best way to use this camera is to set a static IP for it, or leave it on DHCP and tell your router to assign a static IP based on the camera's MAC. Then in the iDMSS app you can manually add a camera so you don't have to use their P2P service to connect the camera. This is especially prudent because as the posters above have noticed, changing the default username or password away from admin:admin breaks stuff, which is totally, hilariously dumb, but I digress. The last firmware update for this camera is from mid-2017, so I doubt this will ever get fixed, but if it never gets fixed then you'll be happiest if you shut down all the UPNP and P2P services and then firewall the camera so it can't see the internet, at all.

    Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with it. I'm a Hikvision guy, and I think this Dahua cam isn't quite as nice as the Hiks I've used, but it's also one of their niche models so I guess I understand if the support isn't as good.
     
    BubbaJoe likes this.
  7. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    Pretty much mirrors my experience.

    I will add:

    You can have a username besides admin/admin but it has to be newadmin999/newadmin999 or newadmin1/newadmin1 with the same username/pass which is stupid but at least it's more secure than the default admin/admin

    Since it's 720p I was OK with 30FPS on this cam, it's not really dragging my BI system down with that fast frame rate at all. YMMV of course.


    Bobfather; does your BI key still have some support time left? If you could please reach out to Ken and see if he can work with you to make the audio work 2-way for this camera's stream. My support is expired so I wasnt able to do it with him, but he said he might be able to...
     
  8. BubbaJoe

    BubbaJoe Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    21
    @bobfather thx for the info, it helps. Been looking at adding a doorbell cam but have held off due to so many problems.
     
  9. bobfather

    bobfather Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    26
    My support is also expired. Crazy that you need "support" to tell Ken that his software is lacking a feature that would be helpful to have, but this is the world we live in!
     
  10. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    I will also add that my camera does not work when set as 'Dahua' and 'Main stream RTSP' with a path of '/'

    Mine only works as:

    Camera: Amcrest
    Type: ProHD/4MP/RTSP
    Path: /cam/realmonitor/
     
  11. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    5,898
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    It's only $30 for continued support, pay the man. He deserves it every year whether you ever use support or not.
     
    awsum140 and gojackets like this.
  12. bobfather

    bobfather Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    26
    At another forum user’s request, here are some videos of the footage you get from this cam, both at night and during the day in a backlit situation. Footage while front lit is also very good (the cam faces due East and catches direct sun every morning), but obviously less contrasty and with more light flares than the backlit scenario.

    All clips recorded at 720P / 25 FPS / 3072kbps CBR:

    Dropbox - FrontDoor.20180303_160917_1.mp4
    Dropbox - FrontDoor.20180304_012703_1.mp4

    As an aside, I have noticed that this cam really doesn’t like to run at less than 3 / 25 / 30 FPS, which are the options allowed in the web configuration settings. You can use version 3 of the Dahua ConfigTool to change the FPS to any arbitrary number (such as 10 FPS), but after a few days of running the video stream develops artifacts that persist even through camera reboots. It’s strange, and most probably a software problem but I doubt it will ever be fixed because this cam isn’t very well supported.
     
    flynreelow and BillG like this.
  13. flynreelow

    flynreelow Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    109
    thanks for the video samples...
     
  14. Phillo

    Phillo n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I am a bit late to this party.... But I was wondering if anyone has had luck connecting this unit directly as an extension to an Asterisk based PBX? Its a limitation in the firmware (I assume). Is it possible either through me not seeing what needs to be done OR via a hacked firmware?
     
  15. Teklock

    Teklock n3wb

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I couldn't get it to work with my Asterisk setup at all. I searched for a SIP firmware like their other doorbell cams, but could't find one anywhere. I don't understand what is so damn hard about making a 2mp, 1080P, ONVIF, SIP Doorbell/Camera!
     
  16. Phillo

    Phillo n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crap. It looks like I have bought a dud (for my purpose anyway)
     
  17. Teklock

    Teklock n3wb

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Actually, there is a SIP firmware now.. check my other thread!
     
  18. Phillo

    Phillo n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have loaded it, but it seems to have language issues (pages are showing no text but other fields are there).

    back to the drawing board.
     
  19. Cameraguy

    Cameraguy Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    497
    Can this model be powered by connecting a regular wall adapter to it (splice wall adapter to the wiring harness that comes with unit)?
     
  20. cameraman27

    cameraman27 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not sure. It's POE, and im not sure if something like that exists? power is fed through the RJ45 port, through 803.11 spec.