Do I need a static IP address?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tengu, May 24, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi,

    I should be getting a new internet connection in the next month or so and I'm not sure if I need to spend the extra on a static ip address?... about $10/month

    My setup is all Dahua cameras with a Dahua NVR without built in POE.
    The goal is to be able to view the cameras remotely via a VPN Server setup on a router.

    So, the question is will a static ip make this easier? Is it essential?
     
  2. Valiant

    Valiant Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Australia
    It's not essential, you can use a dynamic DNS (DDNS) service. Lots of routers usually have a DDNS client built in that you could configure. In my opinion, it's a little easier with a static IP but the extra cost does add up over time. The advantage I see is that the VPN connectivity would be a little more reliable.
     
    Tengu, mat200 and TonyR like this.
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    Alabama
    It would be cheaper to use a DDNS (like no-ip.com free-ip.com, etc.). Many are free and some of those require a monthly visit to renew, a PITA, I think. I pay no-ip.com $25 USD per year to have 24 hostnames (like "myfrontyardcam.noip.net" or the like.

    My router automatically tells no-ip if and when my dynamic WAN IP changes and I just access my home when away by using the hostname mentioned above and it knows what my current WAN IP is.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2019
    Tengu and Valiant like this.
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,987
    Likes Received:
    9,932
    It's a complete waste of money with zero benefit.
     
    Tengu likes this.
  5. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks you Fenderman, always to the point.

    Valiant, that is pretty much what I was thinking.... easier and possibly more reliable

    TonyR I haven't set up a VPN server before, but do you need to have different hostnames? Or can you just use one to access all the cameras?

    Another question - if i were to run a VPN client on the router, I take it that would make the static ip useless?
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,987
    Likes Received:
    9,932
    Its not easier after the initial setup which takes 5 min or more reliable. Aside from the one time in 2016 that dyndns was being attacked I dont recall any issues. You can pay for 2 different ddns services and it would still be cheaper than static.
    You need a single host name all it does is point to your ip.
     
    Tengu likes this.
  7. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    If you use an asus router and openVPN asus provides a DynDns service. A no brainer to setup and use.


    The only time i think a static ip address is necessary is when your home internet provider is a Cell service.
     
    xtropodx and Tengu like this.
  8. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks fenderman & SouthernYankee

    So, no static IP required, now to choose a new router/mesh system and Asus are near the top of the list
     
  9. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    5,981
    DDNS isn't 100% dependable, sadly. My parents recently went from a static to dynamic address for about a week, during which it changed several times and no-ip had a lot of trouble updating their hostname. Once it took over 8 hours for no-ip's own DNS servers to pick up the change; like literally the no-ip management interface said one address but their DNS servers were stuck reporting the previous one. This situation is unusual, but things like that DO happen and are less likely to happen if you have a static IP.
     
    Valiant likes this.
  10. Dramus

    Dramus Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Jersey
    "Need?" I don't know about need. But it can make certain things easier. A couple of my best friends run their own business, each working out of their homes, and I've had this debate with them many times. They argue they get by just fine with residential grade service and DDNS. But I note that they occasionally run into issues I never have with my business class service and a static IP. (E.g.: What @bp2008 wrote.)

    Our home is 100% dependent upon our Internet connection. Besides the usual Internet-y things (browsing, email, streaming, etc.), it's also carrying VoIP, alarm system reporting, and now our video surveillance. Since wireless coverage can be spotty, WiFi calling with our mobile devices has occasionally become necessary. So downtime can be more than a mere inconvenience.

    In the end: Everybody makes their own choices as to what's most important to them.
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,987
    Likes Received:
    9,932
    There is no difference in down time between "business class" internet and residential internet. They just like charging businesses more. The data is transmitted over the EXACT same lines.
    As far as ddns, there are many different services you can use some way more reliable than others.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  12. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I like the asus ddns service, because the router monitors the IP address and reports changes to ASUS. I have not had any problems with the asus ddns. (YET) !
     
  13. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    Alabama
    I've been using no-ip.com for 3 years. Using it, I have provided 6 clients with individually unique hostnames and all 6 use the free DUC ("DNS Update Client" maybe?) client program which sits in the system tray of the Blue Iris server, monitoring any change in the WAN IP. It automatically updates no-ip's server with the latest WAN IP. After 3 years, myself and none of the 6 clients have ever experienced (to the best of my knowledge) an issue where they could not access their cams remotely and which could be attributed to a failure of the no-ip DDNS. And these are people that text me when a field mouse farts nearby, so I'd say that for us, it's been very dependable.
     
    jmcu and bp2008 like this.
  14. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    5,981
    DUC is "dynamic update client" I think. I use it on a number of systems. No-ip has had a few hiccups over the years, but I still use them because of ... inertia.
     
    jmcu and TonyR like this.
  15. mrjessup44

    mrjessup44 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I recently moved into a new house and after 6 months I still have the same IP address, I do use Cloudflare DDNS still but I've also used no-ip.com in the past without issues.
     
  16. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks everyone for your input... more to think about
     
  17. mrjessup44

    mrjessup44 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I would not recommend paying an extra $10 a month if it was a couple of dollars I would consider it more but an extra $120 a year adds up.
     
  18. brutonuk

    brutonuk n3wb

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    uk
    I dont pay for static ip and i dont know when the last time my router changed ip address. I think the last time it changed was after reporting a problem which seemed to be a dos attack on my ip but they wouldnt confirm.
     
    mrjessup44 likes this.
  19. mrjessup44

    mrjessup44 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    yea I recently moved about 8 months ago and I still have the same IP address. Just in case I still use cloudflare ddns so I won't notice a change.
     
  20. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    5,898
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    My IP has only changed over the past 10-12 years if for some reason my modem needs to be replaced. So that's like 2-3 times in 12 yrs. YMMV.