DS-7608NI-SE/8P Working With OSX El Capitan - Is It Possible?

Sprocket

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm a total newbie at this, so apologies if some of my questions are mind numbingly simplistic....

We have a new iMac retina running OSX El Capitan and a Synology 1515+ hooked up via a gigabit modem/router all on Cat 5e cables.

We are in the process of having a system fitted comprising 5 DS-2CD2042WD-I cameras and a DS-7608NI-SE/8P NVR. We chose the NVR rather than going with the Surveillance Station application that comes with the Synology NAS in the hope that the supplier can support the whole system and also that the reviews of the latest SS software are not encouraging.

The bottom line is that after messing about for a couple of days, the supplier's people, even with the help of HikVision's remote support, can't get pictures to show up on the computer. The plug-ins are installed and active on 2 of the 3 browsers we've been trying but still no pictures and the boss of the company now says that OSX newer than 10.10 is simply not supported. We're reluctant to revert to a previous version for fear of screwing some other aspect of the system up and asked him to find an NVR that would work with our Mac but he says they are not available - this is Thailand and it's not clear to me if he means he just can't get hold of one or that they just don't exist.

Firstly, does anyone have experience making the hardware and software we have work properly (and reliably)?

If not, one solution would be to get a (preferably inexpensive and physically small) Windows machine and add that to the network, in which case what is the minimum spec we should aim for? If we went that route, would the camera output be viewable on one of the iMac monitors as we have two and very little desk space for anything else.