DS-7808N-E2 nvr firmware upgrade

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Hi,
I am looking to upgrade the firmware for the above nvr if possible, it has AARR in the serial number. The nvr is working ok, but just looking to be able to use email via Gmail, and can't get it to work on the current v3.3.2 firmware, I purchased via aliexpress a couple of years ago, but the original seller is no longer on there, I had emailed a couple of other sellers to see if they were able to help out but no reply.

If another firmware isn't available, is there another email I can use? I understand that Hotmail doesn't work,

Thanks
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
I have emails now working via an old tiscali account, the nvr sends emails ok, but no attachments, tried direct via cube camera and sends attachments ok.
Anyone know if this is a known issue with nvr not sending attachments? I have the tickbox selected in the email settings.
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
I suspected that would be the case being a Chinese version. It's probably not worth the risk at present to start playing about with firmware and risk breaking it, just now it does what I want, records, can view it remotely, so will just leave it be I think.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
OK, that makes sense. And is probably sensible.
Just out of interest, how did the firmware get to 3.3.2 with EN menus?
Have you done incremental web GUI based updates from a much earlier version?

My 7816N NVRs started with EN menus under 3.0.8 firmware.
The web GUI updates retained the EN menus, but any factory resets or tftp updates (ie anything that cleared the config) resulted in CN menus.
Fortunately, I'd bought the second 7816N to experiment with, which I did, by taking the firmware apart, getting round the integrity checks and tripwires and figuring how it worked. And modifying it to get it the way I like it, with full access.
And when the modded version was proven, updating the 'production' system.
And it's all been absolutely fine.
This is the 'production' system, last re-started at the last firmware update :
Code:
alastair@PC-I5 ~ $ telnet 192.168.1.210
Trying 192.168.1.210...
Connected to 192.168.1.210.
Escape character is '^]'.

dvrdvs login: root
Password:


BusyBox v1.16.1 (2016-06-29 13:49:45 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

psh: applet not found
[root@dvrdvs /root] # getHardInfo
Start at 2016-12-26 20:13:53
Serial NO :1620140616AARR469195184WCVU
V3.4.90 build 161008
softBase:/Platform/trunk:0
KernelVersion: V1.0.0 build 160930
dspSoftVersion: V5.0 build 160924
codecVersion: V5.0 build 160924
hardwareVersion = 0x0
encodeChans = 0
decodeChans = 16
alarmInNums = 0
alarmOutNums = 0
flashsize = 0x0
ramSize = 0x40000000
networksNums = 1
language = 1
devType:DS-7816N-E2/8P
bootPartition = 1
randomCode =
[root@dvrdvs /root] #
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Hi, my nvr came with 3.3.2 firmware pre installed, I haven't really had a play too much with mines as to be honest I wouldn't be sure what I was doing lol.

Have you managed to get yours to 3.4.90?

I'm currently using the poe inputs on the back of the nvr, is their any way that I can set up the web interface of the camera to send emails direct to an email address? or would it be a case of powering the camera via 12v dc, assigning it an ip address on my network, adding this address into the nvr to view the camera?
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
Have you managed to get yours to 3.4.90?
Yes, they have been on that for a while, see the prtHardInfo above. And one has been on 3.4.91 for a while too.
I'm currently using the poe inputs on the back of the nvr, is their any way that I can set up the web interface of the camera to send emails direct to an email address?
Yes - if the NVR has the 'Virtual Host' facility. Check out this example post : DS-2CD2335FWD-I - Hikvision Ultra Low Light 3M camera
With that change, the cameras can talk to the internet.
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Just an update, I have been sent a firmware file which I have been told is for my nvr, is there any way that you could have a look at it and see what you think please? Wouldn't mind knowing what version, and if there is a high chance of bricking my nvr, (I know there is always a risk with firmware so won't hold you accountable lol) If you are available pm me your email and I will forward the email that I received,

Thanks
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
Zip up the firmware file and attach it here - it won't be too big for the forum - and I'll extract the version info and take a look at the model table.
Did the supplier say what the firmware might do, for example keeping English menus?
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Hopefully this has worked, as I have done it from my mobile,

I had requested that I needed upto date firmware and for it to have English menus,

Thanks
 

Attachments

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
Your attachment was fine.
The firmware you were supplied was the 3.4.91 version :
Code:
version.region=standard
version.major=3
version.minor=4
version.soft=91
firewareID=0000000100000001000002000000002a00000002000000020007
base.buildtime=161220
last.buildtime=161220
openssl.version=v1
The device support table is as follows:
Code:
DS-7604N-E1
DS-7604N-E1/4N
DS-7604N-E1/4P
DS-7604N-E2/4N
DS-7604N-E2/4P
DS-7608N-E1
DS-7608N-E2
DS-7608N-G2/4P
DS-7608N-G2/4P/GW
DS-7608N-E2/8N
DS-7608N-E2/8P
DS-7616N-E1
DS-7616N-E2
DS-7616N-E2/8N
DS-7616N-E2/8P
DS-7616N-E2/16N
DS-7616N-E2/16P
DS-7632N-E2
DS-7632N-E2/8N
DS-7632N-E2/8P
DS-7632N-E2/16N
DS-7632N-E2/16P
DS-7708N-E4
DS-7708N-E4/8P
DS-7716N-E4
DS-7716N-E4/16P
DS-7732N-E4
DS-7732N-E4/16P
DS-8608N-E8
DS-8616N-E8
DS-8632N-E8
DS-7108N-E1/V/W
DS-7600N-E1/A
DS-7716N-E4/A
Whether this would work OK with your China region DS-7808N depends on what the internal language is on your NVR, and whether it was supplied with modified firmware to make it show as English.
I don't recall if you had looked at the result of doing
http://<NVR_IP_address>/SDK/Language
If that says English - you can't be sure it's really English.
If it says Chinese, you can be sure it's Chinese.
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Thanks for that , I just checked and the page shows as English, so I take it trying to load the firmware could possibly end up turning it Chinese language, Worse case scenario bricking it?

Cheers
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
I take it trying to load the firmware could possibly end up turning it Chinese language
That's certainly possible, as we all know on here.
What I don't want to do is to break someone's NVR. I don't mind breaking my own - I've done that a few times, but I know I can fix it.
I do have some firmware that should do what you want to do on your NVR, but as always with Hikvision, there is some risk associated with updating.
Having said that, though, this particular firmware has been fine on the handful of devices it's been applied to.
So, a question:
How critical is your NVR to you?
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
It's currently an important item of security, however I do have another nvr that I can swap it out with if things were to go slightly wrong, being a gambling man, I am willing to take the risk. Do you think I should attempt the firmware that I have first, and then if goes wrong try yours, or just go straight for your one?

Cheers
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,961
Reaction score
5,874
Location
Scotland
That does sound like some mitigation.
On the assumption that the spare NVR is the same / similar type that would work OK for you, I'll send you something to try via the web GUI update, via 'conversations'.
 

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
96
Reaction score
2
Location
Scotland
Hi, yeah its another Chinese hikvision nvr, think it might be a 7108, cant remember, its one of the white ones. it would keep me running incase something bad happened.
cheers
 
Top