Geovision GV-FER12203 doesn't play well with BlueIris

Discussion in 'IP Cameras' started by PancakeBimmer, Feb 12, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. PancakeBimmer

    PancakeBimmer Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Got Geovision GV-FER12203 360 FishEye camera to test and so far it does not play well with blueiris. Main stream 4000x3000 with any bitrate when added to blue iris keeps dropping connections every couple seconds or sometimes looses connection for hours. Sub-stream works no problem.

    Already replaced the cable and tested in different poe switch port to rule that out. When connecting to main stream camera directly there are no drops.

    upload_2019-2-12_14-13-49.png

    Besides configuration above I did try rtsp link and while it opens in any media player, blue iris still does not connect/open it.

    Code:
    Opening 10.0.12.123 port 80...
    HTTP Get / request...
    OK
    ONVIF GetSystemDateAndTime
    2019-02-12T22:19:41.000Z
    Requesting device information...
    Manufacturer: Geovision
    Model: GV-FER12203
    FirmwareVersion: v1.02 2016-04-21
    GetCapabilities...
    Querying services
    Has Imaging services: /onvif/imaging
    Has media services: /onvif/media
    Has RTP_RTSP_TCP, requesting profiles
    first profile is profile_Default
    first source is Video_Source
    requesting URI for profile profile_Default
    RTSP URI: /CH001.sdp
    Has Event services: /onvif/events
    RelayOutputs: 1
    RelayOutput: Relay01/Bistable/open
    InputConnectors: 1
    Has Device IO services: /onvif/device_io
    AudioOutputs: 0
    Done
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  2. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Alabama
    What does the server CPU utilization look like during this issue?
    When you tried RTSP, did you try unticking the box "Use RTSP/stream timecode" ?
    What are current settings in the cam for frame rate and frame interval?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  3. PancakeBimmer

    PancakeBimmer Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    CPU Utilization is roughly 65-70%

    Going to try unticking the "Use RTSP/stream timecode" and report back.

    Camera stream settings are basically 4000x3000 15FPS 10Mbps and IFrame at 15 as well. I have tried lowering it down just in case the resource was too much, but it didn't help.
    What seemed to have worked is turning resolution down a bit and then setting it back to 4000x3000 and camera hasn't dropped a connection in about 30 minutes.
     
  4. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Alabama
    12MP is a lot to stream.....I believe with H.264 it's more like 24Mbps @ that frame rate.
     
  5. VorlonFrog

    VorlonFrog Known around here

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    544
    Location:
    Charlotte
    15 FPS is good, but drop your I-frame interval to 30. This will help reduce the network load.
     
  6. PancakeBimmer

    PancakeBimmer Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Shouldn't IFrame match the FPS? I think everywhere I read people recommended setting it to match FPS.
     
  7. VorlonFrog

    VorlonFrog Known around here

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    544
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Generally, yes. With that large an image size, it should help drop the network load by only sending a complete I-frame every two seconds.
     
  8. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Alabama
    I got from your 2nd post ("....15FPS 10Mbps and IFrame at 15 as well....") that FPS and interval were both 15.
     
  9. John Troemel

    John Troemel n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    Jumping in on this poat as it is all I could find I have one of these cameras and can not even get the camera to show. I'm running the latest blue iris. What settings have you used to get the camera to work? I'm on a gigabit network.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ask @PancakeBimmer ...it's been a month. Essentially he said what he did in post #3 but perhaps he can chime in to affirm.
     
  11. PancakeBimmer

    PancakeBimmer Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    upload_2019-3-17_5-44-50.png
    I ended up moving this camera to a BlueIris on a second system and it works great now. In camera properties I set 360 to ceiling which I think enables 360 dewarp when viewing clips and alerts. Keep in mind that if you use Camera Properties > Video > Rotation then dewarp doesn't work.
    The trick with resolution worked okay but I had to do it once every two weeks or so. Some times it had to be done two-three days in a row.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  12. Skinsfan

    Skinsfan n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just saw this thread .. Just as an aside .. I too have the 12203 (for over a year now) and I have always had the same intermittent problem where BI will give me the "No Signal" all day long. I tweaked the settings and it seems to be holding for longer than I remember, but it's only been an hour. We'll see if it holds. I have never been able to get BI to provide the "split screen" 360 image and I am unsure of how to do that. I selected "360 camera" and "ceiling" mount in the settings but it has no effect. I also cannot get smooth video out of this camera, although the Geov app also gives jerky video so it's something in the camera settings I would assume. I have frame rate set to 25, which is the max.
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,245
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    blue iris can only display the 360 view on playback, not live video.
     
  14. Skinsfan

    Skinsfan n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks! Makes sense.

    I will add that since the tweaks I made to my settings from this thread yesterday, and for the first time in a year I've had this camera, it has remained available in BI. Hopefully, that holds. I was about to sell it on fleaBay and move on to another. My only problem now is that it only shows jerky video like it's at low frame rate although I have it set to 29.997 in BI and high bitrate on the camera itself. I checked the Geovision viewer and it also displays jerky so it is not BI that is causing the problem but the camera itself. Quite disappointing for a "12MP" camera that wasn't necessarily cheap. Latest firmware too.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
    fenderman likes this.
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,245
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    Try lowering the bitrate.