Ghosting; clock feezing then jumping forward

stp85

n3wb
Reaction score
I have 3 Hikvision 4 MP cameras (DS-2CD2342WS-I) connected to an NVR (7616-NI-SP). This is an offline system, not connected to the net.
This is a replacement system, installed by the security company to replace the previous system (3 MP cameras connected to a 7606 NVR - two of the cameras developed faults with the infrared function.)
The security company doesn't know how to fix the following problems.
I have very little tech knowledge. I'm hoping I can make some adjustments and fix the problems myself. I can log into the system as an administrator. The security company can attend, if need be, and do any adjustments that can't be done by me.
The previous system had none of these problems.
I'd be very grateful for any advice. Thanks.

1. Jolting motion - cars driving past the house are not moving smoothly.
Dropbox - ch01_20180202065058.mp4
Dropbox - ch01_20180202075649.mp4

2. Clock freezing, then jumping forward.
Bird flies up into the air, freezes, disappears.

3. Ghosting plus clock freezes then jumps forward
Bird walking on the ground

Last edited:

stp85

n3wb
Reaction score
Actually, I was wondering if the exposure rate of the cameras is synched with the exposure rate in the NVR. Could that be causing the problems?
Also, I've read elsewhere online that the 4 MP cameras can have ghosting if the DNR is set too high.
Any thoughts? Thanks for your suggestions.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Actually, I was wondering if the exposure rate of the cameras is synched with the exposure rate in the NVR. Could that be causing the problems?
Also, I've read elsewhere online that the 4 MP cameras can have ghosting if the DNR is set too high.
Any thoughts? Thanks for your suggestions.
That is not the kind of ghosting you see with DNR...that looks like dropped frames...
first try matching the iframe interval on the camera interface to the fps.