Greetings from Sunny SoCal

xmfan

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am based around 30 miles east of downtown Los Angeles and currently in the market to research, learn and eventually install a security camera system.

At the high level, when all said and done, I hope to have around 12 (9 outside, 3 inside) cameras installed. When it comes to cameras, I am a noob, however, I am familiar with the technology it relies on (PoE hubs, networking, etc.)

I've been reading a LOT on this forum, trying to better educate myself so I can make an informed decision to purchase the needed hardware.

Below are a couple of questions I have been pondering over and could use feedback from you experts here. If I state something incorrect, apologies in advance and request your correction, guidance and support.

Q1) NVR vs PC vs NAS : I have a core2quad CPU based pc that I can use to dedicate for this purpose. I also am considering a NAS (QNAP or Synology) to use with the security cams but after a couple of cams, I will need to purchase a cam license. At $75 each, that gets expensive. Lastly, getting an NVR seems to be the most cost effective way but I am open to all feedback/recommendations on this topic.

Q2) Cameras: Like most who are just starting with the security cams, it is probably the biggest hurdle. I am not done reading everything on this topic but I am ALL OVER THE MAP on this =). Dahua vs HIKVision vs AMCREST vs SWANN vs FOSCAM. From what I have learned so far, Dahua seems to be the most popular brand. If so, which bullet type camera is most frequently used/recommended ? I am always worried about firmware upgrades, how does one go about getting the latest firmware on these cameras and what is the most preferred online dealer to purchase from online ?

most likely, there will be more questions but I'll stop for now =)

thanks,
XMFan

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome XMfan,